Peaceful

Standard

I signed up to plant flowers this weekend as a way to earn some extra money, but today and tomorrow are wide open, and I’m living it up before classes start on Tuesday.

I’m trying to get into good sleep habits, so I woke up at the normal time (around 7-ish. I’m going to have to get up much earlier than that on Tuesday, but I can’t bring myself to wake up at 5:30 before I have to), and went for a run. I had a plan- there’s a sunken mini-park a couple of blocks from where I live, and I was going to run around it and do the stairs, but it’s sort of isolated, and there weren’t many people around, so it didn’t feel like a safe idea today. Instead I ran around the Homewood campus, and did stairs there. I have a love/hate relationship with running stairs, but today’s workout felt really good.

When I got home I jumped in the shower, and then made myself a big delicious breakfast.

It’s nothing I haven’t blogged about before, and I’m sure people are getting bored with my endless scrambled eggs and greens, but I never do. The eggs were good, but the flat bread with hummus and caramelized onions stole the show. The pad thai hummus wasn’t quite as good as the garlic, but it was still delicious. Someone should make caramelized onion candy, I would totally eat it. On second thought, I’ll make it myself! I’m picturing a sort of Twix situation, with a shortbread cookie. What do you think? I don’t think chocolate would work, but caramelized onions and caramel might.

After breakfast I spent a lazy hour or so reading Sherlock Holmes. I only brought a select handful of books with me to Baltimore, and I’m burning through them at a fast and furious rate. I’m going to have to explore the Hopkins library soon, but I don’t have a card yet, so that will have to wait just a little bit longer. Living alone does give me lots of time to read though. It’s very peaceful here, without being lonely, and while I’m excited for the other girls to come back I’m really glad I had this time to get settled on my own.

One of the nicest things about my lovely, peaceful home is that it is steps away from The Baltimore Museum of Art. I’ve been meaning to go since I moved in, so today I did just that. The museum is free, which is great, and I suspect I’ll be going there a lot. They have a really great collection, lots of Dutch and Flemish paintings of pale fleshy people, and ancient art, and Impressionists. It’s eclectic, but I really liked a lot of what I saw, with three favorites really standing out.

This is Marie Laurencin’s “Group of Artists”. Isn’t it cool? There’s just something in their faces that makes me think about their relationships, and what they’re thinking. I imagine they’re all at a party, maybe being hosted my the man in the black jacket and the woman holding the flower who I imagine is his wife or girlfriend. He doesn’t look like he’s enjoying himself, and she doesn’t look like she loves him anymore, but they’re still going through the motions. I also really like the daydreaming girl, and the weird dog/lamb.

I love this one. It’s Max Pechstien’s “Circus”, and it jumped out at me from across the room. Isn’t it exciting? He did several paintings of the circus, including one that I like a little more, with camels, but this is a great painting. I especially like that he put some effort into the crowd’s facial expressions- they’re actually responding to the act instead just being a blurred out mass.

(This wasn’t at the museum, I just like it.)

This last one was my favorite of all. Marc Chagall is my favorite painter, but Matisse is right up there, and I would love to step into this painting and hang out. It’s a really happy picture, and I sat on a bench and just enjoyed it for a good five minutes.

I like to take little sips when it comes to museums (the only exception is The American Museum of Natural History in New York. I would live there), so I left after about an hour, and now I’m home, prepping for classes. I have a couple of online things I need to attend to before next week, and this is the perfect opportunity to stop putting them off and knock them off my list. Have I mentioned lately that I’m super happy? Because I really, really am. 🙂

Leave a Reply

