The Creek

Standard

I don’t really believe in guilty pleasures, but if I did, my love for Dawson’s Creek would qualify. It’s terrible- I had forgotten just how bad the dialogue truly is, but I love it, and I was thrilled when I saw it on instant Netflix. All of the current accelerated students have been telling us to enjoy the last of our free time before school starts, and for me that’s meant catching up with Dawson, Joey, and Pacey (I’m in a new place and I don’t know anyone yet, so sue me. I do other things too, I’m just talking about awesome 90’s teen soaps right now).

My biggest take away from indulging in this totally-not-guilty pleasure is that I want to go to the beach. Usually I don’t really like the beach, I’ve always thought sand is gross, and now after taking microbiology I know it’s actually much grosser than I had previously suspected, and I’m actually a little afraid of the ocean (I make a point of going in the water every time I go to the beach, but I get a little nervous if I go in much deeper than my sternum. The ocean is really big, ok? It’s big, and powerful, and there are lots of things living in it, and I think that’s a little scary), but I want to go anyway.

I keep thinking about my August break. There are lots of places that would be super fun destinations (Gettysburg! Williamsburg! D.C! The Eastern Shore!), but while they aren’t that far away, they would require a car, which I don’t have. I’m kind of hoping that I’ll meet cool people with cars but no plans for break and we’ll go on outings together, but I’ll have to play that by ear. I hope there are beach adventures in my future though.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. If you are making unrealistic travel plans, I’m hurt that CoMo isn’t on the list. Or someplace equidistant, like lovely Indianapolis or cosmopolitan Dayton, Ohio.

    • I would love to come visit you (that is what CoMo is, right? Do people actually call it that?), but Gettysburg is less than a two hour drive, and D.C. is forty-five minutes, so those are slightly less unrealistic if I make friends with cars. No one is going to want to drive the sixteen hours to Missouri, especially in August. I might just fly up to Buffalo since it’s only an hour flight, and Sara says it’s very inexpensive, and I could go to Shakespeare in the Park and whatnot. I just don’t want to sit around Baltimore and not do anything.

Leave a Reply

