Already learning

Standard

Classes haven’t even started yet, but I’ve already learned a valuable lesson- I shouldn’t try to get a full day’s worth of calories in all at once, even if it’s free food provided by the school. I should have known it wouldn’t work out well, but it was so tempting that I had to try, and now at least I know better. Free food is great, and I’m a poor student, but I just can’t do it without feeling sick and grumpy for hours after. In my defense, I’m not the only one who tried, but “everyone is doing it” is a pretty flimsy excuse.

Day Two of orientation was painfully dull. I make a serious effort to not play on my phone while people are talking, but today’s lectures were rough, and I had to struggle to resist the siren song of Facebook. In a stunning display of math comprehension I forced myself to leave for the shuttle a solid fifteen minutes later than I did yesterday, and as a result I was only forty-five minutes early today instead of an hour. On the plus side though, I discovered that I can read on the bus without getting a headache, so I’ll be able to use that time either for studying, or a few stolen minutes of pleasure reading. It honestly wasn’t a bad day, but it dragged on, and I really just want to get started with classes. The anticipation is killing me. I finally bought my fancy nurse’s clogs, and I even took the plunge and bought all my books off a graduating student, I want to start classes already.

(Ok, I used my roommate’s mirror for my dress-up shot. I think my mirror makes me look wide, maybe it’s a little warped? The kind of funny thing though, that if I’m stationed at the Johns Hopkins Hospital for my clinicals I won’t actually wear the scrubs top- the real nurses wear the exact same uniform, and there have been issues with students being ordered to do stuff they weren’t qualified for, so now they wear their polos instead. I kind of like the all blue look though, and the shoes make me very tall.)

I still felt bloated and nasty from my attempt to front load my day’s eating when dinnertime rolled around, but I enjoy cooking in the evenings, so I chopped up and caramelized more onions (flat breads and caramelized onion- I’m turning into a real one trick pony). They take forever to cook, and I used that time to read, and pull my mood up by the bootstraps. When they were done I decided to have a quick workout, which finally did the trick, and made me feel better again (push-ups are a marvelous thing). I even wanted dinner, so I threw together a nice salad with CSA greens, carrots, garlic hummus, and the onions.

It was great. I actually never used to like carrots, but I’ve been eating tons of them lately, and they make a really good snack. It started out because I wanted a vessel for all my hummus (even though I’ve just eaten it by the spoonful too), and then I felt pressured to eat them so they wouldn’t go to waste, but now I actually choose them over other snacks. It’s weird, but I like it- I like being the kind of person who would snack of raw veggies.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

