What. A. Day.

Standard

Last night I opened my home to a classmate in need- her apartment won’t be ready until Thursday, and she needed a place to crash, so I happily offered her my floor (I don’t have a couch, so I could only offer the floor or the bathtub, and she chose the floor). I was a little unsure of my role as host, but I helped her make a comfortable little nest on the floor, and made her breakfast this morning, and we had a nice time.

After breakfast we strolled around Charles Village, and then hopped in her car to pick up another classmate and go to Target. That classmate just so happened to live in the same building as the girl who is sharing the CSA share with me, so I shot her a text, and we gained another passenger. I didn’t really need anything from the store, but I’m doing my best to say yes to things, so I was happy to go along for the ride, and I’m glad I did. In a very If-You-Give-A-Mouse-A-Cookie train of thought, my classmates realized once we got to Target that what they really wanted was to go to Costco, and so that was our next stop. Costco is a little overstimulating, but I really enjoyed the free samples (they were giving out Chex Mix, and cheese, and bites of all different kinds of cheesecake, among other things), and I found something very special and VERY exciting.

The car was packed to the gills after the Costco run, so we stopped off at my apartment and I put my purchase away, and gave Jill her CSA stuff, and then went over to her apartment building to unload the rest of the purchases. It’s a lovely building, though it’s a little impersonal, and absurdly expensive (I might just be bitter because they have gorgeous kitchens with big lovely stoves that actually work. They don’t have any hot water though, so I’m not that jealous). We then hopped on a bus to the waterfront, and walked around, taking in the sights and the nice weather. As I’m blogging it, I’m realizing that we didn’t actually do that much, but it felt like a full day because the company was so pleasant, and that just makes everything more exciting. All of my classmates that I’ve met so far have been delightful. I’m really looking forward to getting to know everyone better, and meeting the rest of my class.

Social ties aside though, check it out!

Isn’t it beautiful? You wouldn’t believe how inexpensive it was, and I’m going to use it to make so many things! I’m super jazzed.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

    • It’s rather large, but it does fit in my oven, so I’m happy. I honestly got it for the sole purpose of baking that lovely bread (last night while I was trying to get to sleep I thought about all the breads I could make, like caramelized onion, or cheddar bread (Mum and Dad left me with a lovely block of that Costco three year Vermont cheddar, and it’s wonderful- have you tried it?). I want to make other things too though, I’m thinking of doing a fricassee this weekend so I can bring nice leftovers for my first week of classes, and Dad always does those in the dutch oven.

Leave a Reply

