Disorientation

Standard

I had a simple dinner tonight, just some pre-prepared lentils, on top of greens, with a toasted flat bread. Have I mentioned that the breads inflate when you toast them? It’s a little thing, but I’m completely charmed by it. I added a spoonful of yogurt because it makes it nice, but I’m almost out, so the rest of the batch needs to be saved until I can use it to make more. I’m moving away from the packaged lentils too, I want to save the last few packages for when I’m swamped with school and really need a quick meal.

I barely slept last night, I was so full of first day of school jitters, but I leaped out of bed this morning, did ten push-ups, and proceeded to try on a million outfits in an attempt to find the perfect combination of comfortable and presentable that would allow me to make a good first impression on my classmates and adviser. They were providing us with breakfast at school, but I woke up so early that I had a snack anyway- a lychee jelly, and a piece of toast that I ate on the way to the bus stop. It was my first time riding on the JHU shuttle, and it went really well. I wasn’t quite up on the etiquette, the bus can only hold so many people, so the other people waiting were lining up in order of when they arrived, and I kind of jumped the que, but everyone was able to ride, and I know for tomorrow. It’s a quick ride, maybe twenty-five minutes, and I got to school a solid hour ahead of schedule. The neighborhood around the medical campus is sketchy though, so rather than wander or go get a cup of coffee I went right into the nursing school, and the security guard (who seemed used to the compulsively early student antics, I guess it’s a thing at Hopkins the way it was a thing at Smith) led me to a table where another girl was already waiting. We chatted a bit, and gradually the room started to fill up until we decided we had waited sufficiently long and dug into the nice breakfast buffet they had laid out. There were bagels, and various spreads, and pastries, but I was excited about the fruit salad, and took a bunch of kiwi (among other things of course, but the kiwi just struck the right chord with me today. It was very ripe, and I probably took more than was polite, but I don’t really like melon, and fruit salad always has too much. It’s the lettuce of fruit salad).

The brass tacks of orientation were fine, but most of it had been covered at Accepted Students Day, so there wasn’t anything too earth-shaking. We did a quick scavenger hunt, designed to help us get acquainted with the building, but my group decided to ignore the purpose of the exercise, and broke the list up so that everyone found one item and reported back (we were led by the brassy girl from ASD, who was in rare brassy form). It felt a little inconsiderate of the current students who had organized the hunt, but it worked, and we were the first group back and won gift certificates for free lunches at the cafe in the lobby.

Lunch was also provided (I made a point of making the most of these meals since they were free, but I probably had too much sugar, and now I’m craving more. It was hard to resist though, since my oven is still broken and my only options for sweets at home are peanut butter, which leaves me kind of cold these days, and my rapidly dwindling supply of assorted jellies. Yogurt doesn’t count, since it’s unsweetened, and I’m almost out, with no way of making more), and we sat with our new advisers so that they could share words of wisdom. My adviser seems nice enough, and I’m sure I’m going to be hanging on her bell for the next thirteen months, but because our program is so short we don’t really have much (or any) flexibility as far as classes.

We were released around 2:00, and I went over to the bookstore to pick up my scrubs. Of course it was a mob scene, so my plan of picking out my shoes didn’t happen, but I was lucky enough to pass a classmate I met at the bar last week on my way to the shuttle stop, and she took pity on my carrying-a-large-box-in-the-rain state and offered me a ride home. People have been so helpful about shuttling me around, but I can’t help but wish I had a car anyway. It would simplify things (it would complicate things too, but it’s just a fantasy, since I’m not going to get a car, so why let reality get in the way of my idealized car-owning image of life?).

I had tons of errands to do, and ran around getting things done and being productive, and now I’m semi-comatose. My life is about to be insanely busy, which makes me slightly nervous, since I’m wiped out from a day of just talking about how busy I’ll be. Not even talking, just listening. I need to work on my stamina, but it’ll probably improve as I go. I had a sort of nice time at orientation, but I find that kind of event, with lots of strange people I’m supposed to be forming lifelong friendships with, exhausting. I do much better in small groups, which will happen eventually, but I can’t help feeling pressured to make connections right away, even though it’s stressful and not how I function.

For now I’m home, contemplating an early bedtime, and a later wake-up tomorrow, or at least a later shuttle. There are still various odds and ends chores that I can do tonight, like order textbooks, and I want to squeeze in all the pleasure reading that I can before classes start. The last episode of Sherlock is up too, but I can’t bring myself to watch it just yet. There won’t be more until 2013, and that’s so far away. Maybe I’ll save it until I really really need a carrot on a string to get through something.

Everyone was emphasizing how short the program is, and how the summer term will go by in the blink of an eye, and then we have most of August off (speaking of, what should I do with my break? Lots of people are going away, which does sound tempting, but I have rent, and CSA veggies, and I don’t know where I would go. Buffalo maybe? I might do a day trip out to D.C., just because I’ve never been there, and I think there’s a pretty cheap bus. I’m not sure- it’ll require further deliberation later in the summer). It’s just ten weeks of insanity, and then we get to come up for air. You can do anything for ten weeks- I’m thinking of it like a 2k test. People keep trying to convince me that I need to just focus on school, and that there will be time for other things later, but I’m actually very comfortable with the idea of marrying myself to my work (though I do feel sort of sorry for the people in my program who are actually married to people. Their spouses are probably in for some neglect). I’m so excited to start, and actually move closer to being a nurse that I can hardly stand it.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. You know, I did my yogurt at room temperature and it was fine. Very thick, even. Granted it’s May in Missouri and room temperature is pretty warm, but still. Not convinced you need an oven.

    As for Sherlock, I *still* haven’t seen series two, but I’m going to watch The Great Game tonight while J is out of town and then I’ll be ready. Maybe. You know what I’ve never seen? The last episode of Jeeves & Wooster. I’ve been saving it for a rainy day for about six years now.

    • It’s warmish in Baltimore (my coconut oil is liquid), but I’m not sure it’s quite warm enough yet. Was your air conditioning on? I thought about getting a heating pad, but they’re absurdly expensive- you could get a dutch oven for the same price lol.
      I’ve watched the first two episodes of season two of Sherlock twice already, but I just can’t bring myself to finish it. Does J&W end, like with The Tie That Binds? Or was the last episode just another adventure, without any real conclusion? I almost prefer it that way, final episodes tend to be a drag.

      • No, my air conditioner wasn’t on. Laurie Colwin says to put it over the pilot light but that idea makes me very nervous.

        The last episode of J&W is The Tie That Binds, as a matter of fact. Which isn’t a drag because it’s Jeeves promising to be in Bertie’s service forever, aw.

Leave a Reply

