Too good

Standard

Today was gorgeous. Simply beautiful. The weather was perfect, and I spent the better part of the day sitting out on my fire escape, reading (and enjoying my nice almond milk drink that the Pakistani grocer gave me. It was very tasty, with a strong cardamom flavor, and sort of reminded me of the milk left after you finish your cereal) and playing mandolin (I figured out the rest of “Amazing Grace”, and even if it isn’t 100% right it sounds right, and that’s how folk music is played anyway).

As pleasant as I found my perch though, I eventually decided that such a beautiful day would be wasted if I didn’t walk around a bit and get to know my neighborhood, so that’s exactly what I did. Charles Village is cute, a little chain-filled, but nice, and I concluded my walk at the Homewood campus lawn, where I sprawled out with a book. There were lots of people hanging out on the lawn, but it was quiet, and a great reading spot. I do love a nice lawn. I read a few chapters, but by that time it was getting kind of late, and my mind started wandering in a dinnerly direction, so I gathered my stuff and headed back home.

I love onions. Onions cooking is one of my absolute favorite smells, and I use them all the time. I had planned on doing my grocery shopping for this upcoming week tomorrow, but the beautiful weather combined with this morning’s trip to the market prompted me to bump it up a day, and onions were at the top of my list. In retrospect, I could have been a local shopper and gotten them at the farmer’s market, but that only just occurred to me now, so I’ll let it slide. Maybe next time. Anyway, I was in a very onion-y mood tonight, and decided that the best way to scratch that itch would be caramelized onions.

My stove is tricky, and even when it says it’s a low flame you have to actually look down and check, but the onions came out tremendously. They took ages, but as soon as they started cooking the smell made me feel a smidge homesick, so I called my dad, which helped pass the time. When they were done though, it was well worth the wait, because they were incredible. I had planned on saving some for later, but that didn’t happen, I ate a third of them with my fingers before assembling the rest of my meal.

Some meals are just knock-your-socks-off amazing, and this was one of them. Seriously. I cannot emphasize enough how very very nice this tasted. The greens were greens, so who really cares, but the flat bread, spread with garlic hummus, and topped with caramelized onions, was astonishing. Honestly, it was one of them best dinners I’ve had in I don’t know how long, the only thing that could have made it better would have been sharing it with other people, which I’m absolutely going to do at some point. It’s too simple for a dinner party, but if I have people over for lunch sometime it’ll be on the menu for sure.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Peaceful « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

