The best laid plans

Standard

So things didn’t turn out quite the way I expected, but I still have high hopes for this weekend. Instead of going to the party last night I went out to dinner with my friends Scott and Judy. We’re all splitting the CSA share, and around 3:00 yesterday Judy called and offered to drop off my veggies and then take me to dinner, and while a party would have probably been both amusing and diverting, I couldn’t pass on an offer like that. They came to pick me up (and drop off a bunch of kale, spinach, and mustard greens) around 7:15, and then we drove off to Fells Point. I actually can’t remember the name of the place where we ate, but it was very nice. I’m allergic to shellfish, so their impressive raw bar was out of the question, but I had a great grilled mahi sandwich with avocado and garlic aioli, and Scott and Judy split a dozen oysters and an order of calamari (I didn’t take pictures again because I feel funny whipping out a camera at the table, even just a camera phone, when I’m with people who don’t know about my blog. I’ll get over it, but that’s why all of my food shots have been of breakfast items lately). After dinner we strolled around a bit, and they pointed out landmarks and streets I should know, and then they drove me home. It was a very pleasant evening- I’m so glad I live in a place where I have people.

This morning Judy came by again (bearing mint and dill from her garden), and we went to the Pakistani grocery store, and then to the farmer’s market. The Pakistani store is very cute, and the man at the counter knew Judy, and gave me a can of some kind of almond drink as a welcome gift. They have a great selection (I’ve never seen so many kinds of ghee), and the whole place smelled spicy and delicious. The prices were good too, and I bought a big four pound bag of red yellow lentils that I think will make many pretty dishes.

Baltimore has a huge farmer’s market under an overpass, but it also has a smaller market less than a mile from my apartment, and that’s where we went this morning. It’s a beautiful day, and there were tons of people and vendors selling all kinds of exciting goods. I was dying for some rhubarb, but it was expensive, and I don’t really need it (if I had bought some I would have probably just stewed it and eaten it with a spoon, and while that would have been so delicious I could see it leading to stomachaches), so I passed. I mostly just browsed, since I have a lot of produce from my CSA, but I did splurge and buy a beautiful basil plant. It smells heavenly, and I couldn’t resist.

Judy also bought me two tubs of hummus (they’re really incredibly generous, I’m going to have to have them over for dinner once my oven is working). The hummus vendor had lots of samples, and I tried an interesting chocolate covered popcorn flavor that was actually very good, with a nice buttery after taste, and a mango curry, before settling on pad thai, and vampire slayer (VERY garlicky).

After the market I came home and made myself a nice big breakfast. Lately I’ve been eating large late breakfasts and skipping lunch, and today I had sauteed mustard greens with my egg, just because I don’t really know what else to do with them, and everything tastes good with egg and cheese. I also had a flat bread spread with the garlic hummus, and a grapefruit for dessert.

The hummus is really something special. I tried it once at Scott and Judy’s house, and it was so good that I’m really excited to have a whole tub. I was just thinking that I should either make or buy some hummus this weekend, and then it practically fell into my lap. Dinner and hummus in one weekend, I’m going to have to make them something very nice when they come.

Today is so beautiful that I really need to spend as much of it outside as possible. It’s the perfect day to explore Charles Village.

One response »

Leave a Reply

