Starting off right

Standard

I have approximately a million and one things to do before Monday, and orientation, so this weekend is going to be wicked busy. Fortunately though, it also promises to be super fun, so I’ll take it. A few of my classmates are having a party tonight, I want to check out the huge Baltimore farmer’s market, and to top it all off, it’s Pride weekend! It sounds like Baltimore has a pretty big gay culture, so it should be fun, and I’m trying to get a group together to check it out.

Today started off with a delicious breakfast. I’m getting another batch of CSA veggies tomorrow, so I need to finish last week’s stuff today. I kicked my veggie consumption into high gear with a big bale of spinach that I wilted, then tossed in a pan with an egg (I miss giant brown eggs! My eggs are tiny and white, and less nice), and some cheddar cheese, and wrapped it up in a flat bread. As a special treat I squeezed some fresh grapefruit juice, and so it was a festive, delicious breakfast (I bought a big bag of grapefruits, and now I’m racing to eat them all before they start going bad. I have some time still, but I can’t justify buying more fruit while I still have them and I want bananas).

Have I mentioned lately that I love my plates? They were a present from my mother, and they’re beautiful, and make me feel like Holly Sturgis. One of the nicest things about my dishes (because they aren’t just plates, it’s a whole set, with soup bowls, and tea cups, and all that good stuff (my mom found them at the Serendipity Shoppe, so they were very reasonably priced, and the money went to a good cause) are the little bowls. They’re teeny, and perfect for serving a fancy dessert, or in my case homemade yogurt.

I didn’t post about it, but the night before I left home I made syllabubs for the first time (oh my goodness they were so delicious! I served them with rhubarb compote, and it was incredible. Cream is just wonderful) and these bowls would be the perfect serving vessel for just that kind of thing. I’m already thinking about dinner parties, even though I don’t really know anyone yet, and don’t have a working oven. One of these days it’ll happen though, and that will be a lot of fun.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

