Any whey

Standard

I had a bit of an adventure today, walking all over to get my drug screen, so now I’m tired, and footsore, and giving myself a pass on running. It was worth it though, I’m all set on that point, and can cross it off my giant stressful To Do list.

Instead of going for a run I decided to use my whey from making yogurt, and made another batch of flatbreads. I still have a lot of the first batch (I froze them, which will make them last longer in more ways than one, since they won’t get stale, and I can’t mindlessly snack on frozen breads), but I have a hard time with using my whey, and I’m trying to be very waste not, want not-y, so I thought it would be better not to wait. This batch came out nicely, but I was surprised when I tried one because you can totally taste the whey, they’re very yogurty breads.

Aren’t they pretty? I think these look much nicer than the first batch, since I put a little oil in the skillet, and had them on lower heat for less time. I’ve mostly just been eating them plain, or with a little butter, but I’m going to try to branch out a bit since I have so many now, and use them for pizza crusts, or very bready quesadillas (I did make them using a tortilla recipe). They’re nice little breads, and they’re so easy to make that I imagine they’ll be showing up a lot. (Edit: Ok, they look just like the first batch in that picture, but I swear, these are less burned!)

I also made lemonade, just to mix things up in the beverage department. I don’t actually have a pitcher, so I made it in a Pellegrino bottle, because I’m cool like that.

It’s ok, but I’m already thinking about next week’s groceries and buying some orange juice.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I just made my first yogurt! It came out beautifully and I am going to do it all the time. I probably didn’t need to drain it but I did anyway and now it’s very thick, like Greek yogurt, and I too have whey, so recipe please!

    • Yay! I’m so glad it worked out!
      Do you mean you want the recipe for the breads? It’s four cups flour, a teaspoon of salt, two teaspoons of baking powder, half a stick of butter, and about a cup of whey (start with 3/4 cups, then add as needed so that you don’t have loose dry ingredients at the bottom of the bowl). You mix the dry stuff together, and then add the butter until it’s a coarse meal, and then add the whey (I just mixed everything with my hands)/ When it’s all combined work it on a floured surface until it’s a nice lump of dough, then divide it into between sixteen or so balls. Flatten the balls out, either with a rolling pin, or just with your hands, and then cook them using a skillet, letting each bread cook for about 15-20 seconds on each side, or until they start to brown.

Leave a Reply

