First attempt

Standard

My first dinner in the new apartment was a mixed bag. When I first arrived I was greeted by a slew of post-it notes over every surface in the apartment, including one on the stove that said something along the lines of “Careful! The stove gets hot!”. I rolled my eyes a little, but I should have listened, because the oven does get incredibly hot, and because it’s an old one, with dials instead of a digital thermometer, it’s hard to say just how hot it really is. I burned the heck out of some kale chips after only five minutes, and my brown rice was somehow burned and undercooked at the same time. These are minor setbacks though, and I will overcome them, and make delicious things using this oven.

On the whole, dinner was good though. I never really got around to lunch, so I was starving by 4:00, and started the rice, since it takes an hour to cook. While I got things in order I grazed on some of my CSA lettuce, and made the poor, doomed kale chips which I then ate (I also had a little jelly thing, because I was dying of hunger). Dinner consisted of pre-cooked packaged lentils from Costco, (and I’m already sad that I didn’t get more, because they’re so simple and delicious), with the challenging brown rice, on top of more greens. It was actually very nice, and I’m pleased with my first grown-up apartment dinner.

I’m not really sure what to do with myself, since I’m on my own, and I don’t know anyone yet, and I’m a little afraid of Baltimore. So far I’ve been to the grocery store, and I survived, but I tend to be a toe-dipper when it comes to new cities, rather than just plunging right in, so I’m going to have to build up to bigger outings. Next weekend is Pride, and I know I want to go to that, so I need to get to the point where I can leave my street before then. For now though, it’s still raining, and I have P.G. Wodehouse to read, and Sherlock streaming, so I’m perfectly content having my first night in my new home be a quiet one.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. The Art Museum is a few blocks from your apartment. You should email your classmates and see if anyone wants to meet up and look around. Plus, you should pick up your new work duds and scope out the neighborhood.

Leave a Reply

