Goodbye dinner cake

Standard

Once at a dinner party my dad (who never lets the truth get in the way of a good story) told a friend that everyone in our family is always working on perfecting a dessert. It isn’t true, but I like the idea, and I do have party piece recipes that I didn’t necessarily invent, but have adopted and like to trot out on a semi-regular basis. My favorite is a New York Times walnut tart, but because my cousin is allergic to nuts I rarely get to feature it, so I have to branch out a bit.

It’s hard to believe, but I’m moving in less than a week, so tonight we had the family over for a goodbye dinner. We had a nice pot roast, with asparagus, and roasted potatoes, and I made a very nice grapefruit pound cake. It took the last of the yogurt, and so my parents won’t have a starter for their next batch, but I think it was worth it. According to my mother pound cake is always a good choice, and this one certainly was. Unfortunately, I didn’t think to take a picture before cutting into it, so I’ll borrow the Smitten Kitchen one, but with the full understanding that it isn’t mine, and I shouldn’t be given any credit for it.

I do love Smitten Kitchen recipes- they’re so straightforward and nice. This one was a breeze, so I stuck to it, and only added several times the grapefruit zest it calls for because I love zesting citrus and I wanted a very strong grapefruity flavor. My first attempt at the sauce didn’t turn out, I think I overcooked it, so it turned into grapefruit caramel, which was delicious, but useless. The second attempt was better, and the overall effect was delightful. I served it with fresh raspberries on top, and the option of raspberry jam, that no one took me up on (I didn’t have any either. My parents are always putting sauce on things, but I hate gilding the lily), and it was a hit. It was a nice, basic cake, the kind I could make for a potluck, or dinner party, simple ingredients, easy batter, no mixer required, so I think I’ll add it to the rotation.

It was nice seeing my family, but I haven’t fully grasped the idea that I won’ t see them again until Christmas. Living in Buffalo has been much nicer than I expected, and spending a lot of time with family has been a large part of that.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s never lupus « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

