So bad, but so good

Standard

I remember when Glee first came out, and they premiered the pilot the summer before the rest of the show, just to test the waters to see if people would respond. I thought it was pretty good, nothing to get excited about, but usually worth watching. I liked that it was a big social event in my house at Smith, girls piled into the living room, and you had to get there early if you wanted a seat on the couch, and even during finals people brought their homework and laptops to work during commercials because they couldn’t not watch Glee. Now of course, it’s terrible, and I don’t watch it anymore. There were things that I liked, but for the most part it  was really terrible, and too focused on lightly touching (just gently brushing really, barely even touching) the big Issue of the Week with minimal build-up or character development, and whatever songs they thought would sell big on iTunes. Bleh. It’s mostly harmless, and occasionally offensive, but no one is putting a gun to my head to force me to watch, so I don’t give it much thought. Today though, Brenna from How I Met Ted Mosby posted a link to a Glee video, and I clicked and was hooked.

I’ve seriously watched it like three times already, and I’m not sure why I like it as much as I do, but for whatever reason it’s getting it done for me today. Stupid stoner rugby boy associations aside, I just love Darren Criss. Glee is rubbish, but Darren Criss, with his Very Potter Musical hilarity, and bow ties, and really nice arms is able to overcome it and still be great, and even, dare I say it, supermegafoxyawesomehot.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

