Desert Island

Standard

Digging around the attic looking for my rugby shorts last week I discovered a copy of Cold Comfort Farm with cover art by Roz Chast. Book ownership can be tricky, since they get passed around and shared, and some books can’t be taken from the family home and cast to the winds with whichever daughter lays her hand on them, because that wouldn’t be fair, and we need to think of the hypothetical children that one of us might someday have who might want to have something to read when they visit their grandparents. I know some books are off limits, but they aren’t all, and  it got me thinking about my personal library. Practically speaking, I don’t need to bring a lot of books with me to Baltimore. I’m not going to have time for a lot of pleasure reading, and books are heavy and take up a lot of space, and I don’t know where I’ll be living a year from now, so I don’t want to weigh myself down, and afterall, that’s what libraries are for. At the same time though, I want to have books. How are people who come into my apartment going to know that I’m cool if they can’t look at my carefully organized bookshelves?

After giving it some thought, I decided to bring ten recreational reading books with me to Baltimore (not counting my doula books). I haven’t settled on which ten will make the cut yet, but I’m going into major packing mode this weekend, and I’ll give it more thought then. When are you supposed to start building your library? Accumulating stuff is a slippery slope, but I want to be someone who has lots of books. I grew up in a house full of books, and I think it makes a space look more inviting. A house isn’t a home to me unless it’s chock full o’books.

I missed the original airing of the second season of Sherlock, but PBS is running it again starting this weekend, and I’m not going to miss it again. The first season ended with a great cliffhanger, but it doesn’t sound like it’s going to pick up where it left off, which is slightly trying, but might not actually be a bad thing. I used to like House, back before it jumped the shark, but the problem with tv characters like Holmes is that people like them to develop, and grow, and that isn’t in their nature. Holmes should be preserved in amber, and so I think the mini-movie style of showcasing his adventures, where each one stands alone, and he can just do his thing without having to change, is best. It also has Benedict Cumerbatch and Martin Freeman, and I love them.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

8 responses »

  1. Oh Sherlock, I love it so much! I haven’t seen the second season yet either, but once the semester ends I definitely will. I think there is at least some room for Holmes to change. In the last episode of Series One you could tell that he had formed an actual connection with another human being, which is a pretty big step for him.

    I strongly advise against owning a lot of books at this stage in your life – ten seems about right. The only books I actively acquire are comics – I have the whole series of Y: The Last Man and I’m hankering after more books of Runaways and the New Mutants (even though I haven’t read all the New Mutants books I already have – maybe soon.). I also have substantial, though not comprehensive, Laurie Colwin and P.G. Wodehouse collections, because I can return to them again and again and they always cheer me up, and you can’t always find either of them at the library. What do people think when they scan the shelves at my house (which they do)? I don’t know. But they certainly don’t get a very complete picture of who I am. I’m okay with that.

      • I guess you get a sample of who I am: comic book geek, cook, former philosopher, person who owns a Bible. Plus at any given time I have about 80 library books checked out, so those are there, too.

      • The Jeeves omnibus might be a good addition to your collection. It has a lot of stories, and you can read one before bed and then go to sleep imagining that Jeeves has agreed to help you solve your problems through devious machinations.

  2. Also, I love that picture. And also, people used to look at your music collection to find out who you are as a person and they don’t do that anymore – maybe they’ll browse your iTunes but that’s not the same thing.

Leave a Reply

