Veggies

Standard

Baltimore has a reputation for having good farmer’s markets, and I was Googling around looking at different locatation, and daydreaming about strolling around, buying local produce when I discoved The Samaritan Woman CSA and was hooked. One share has enough food for four people, so I signed up with a couple of friends and a future classmate, and even though the details are a little up in the air it’s very exciting. The CSA starts this weekend, and even though I’m not going to be there to eat the produce I’m still super pumped. I can’t wait to hear about what kind of stuff was in the basket. I’ve heard different things about CSAs, some people say you get a weekly avalanche of stuff and it’s really hard to keep up, others say it isn’t that much, and you usually have to supplement with grocery store produce, so I’m curious about this particular CSA. On the one hand, it would be kind of nice if it was a whole lot of stuff, because then I could just live off of my share of the basket and not have to do much grocery shopping (the CSA doesn’t really include fruit though, so I’ll have to buy that on my own. They did plant melons, which is slightly intimidating, since I’ve never been a big melon-eater, and I’ve certainly never eaten a whole melon by myself, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it). I’m going to have to eat what I have, especially since my budget is going to be so tight, and it would be a built-in healthy diet with lots of local, fresh stuff. On the other hand, it sounds like it’s going to be a lot of lettuce, at least at first, and I could see that getting away from me if it’s too much. Lettuce is all well and good, but I don’t know how much salad I can eat before I would never want to see another leaf in my life. What else can you do with lettuce though?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

