A game

Standard

Sometimes I like to play a game called If I Lived Alone. It’s  pretty simple concept, I just do whatever I would if I lived by myself. If I Lived Alone I would walk home from my mandolin lesson instead of getting a ride, so that’s what I did today, with a quick stop in at the beer store for some Wolaver’s Wildflower Wheat beers. I’ve thought a bit about whether I’ll buy beer when I live in my own apartment, and while I rarely drink I think I will, just to have in case I want one or someone comes over so I have something to offer them besides milk or water (or orange juice, because it is The Best Beverage. Seriously. The Best. Ever. Actually, I might not offer it to guests, it’s too valuable and luxurious). When I got home I took out the trash and recycling, because If I Lived Alone that would be my job, and then I cleaned the cat boxes, because that would also be my job. (All the jobs would be my job If I Lived Alone.) Things sort of went off the rails when I decided to to make my own tortilla chips and drink way too much juice and gave myself a stomache. You lose big points for bad food decisions in If I Lived Alone, and then I watched a bunch of The Big Bang Theory instead of doing some cool stuff that a person who lives by themself should do, like making alien abduction lamps.

The fact of the matter is that I will live alone soon, and I’m not really ready. I’ll be ready when it’s time, because I’ll have to be, but I’ll probably still drink too much juice sometimes, because that happens on a pretty regular basis.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I thought you were going to have roommates? Believe me, roommates are a world away from living alone. If you make homemade chips when you have a roommate you’ll have to offer to share.

    • I will have roommates, but they’re traditional nursing students, so they get the summer off, and I’ll be on my own for the first month or so.
      Sharing my homemade chips would have been a good idea. Also using corn instead of flour tortillas.

Leave a Reply

