The most important meal of the day

Standard

I have mixed feelings about cereal. I used to like it a whole lot, once when I was a kid I stayed up all night so I could beat my older sister to the mini box of Corn Pops the next morning. I still love Rice Krispies, and pairing them with either peaches or blueberries is one of my very favorite summer breakfasts. Things get more complicated once you get into “healthy” cereal territory. I like Grapenuts, sometimes, kind of. Granola isn’t actually healthy (and it often contains misleading decorative whole flax seeds), and Ezekiel is inedible. The best course of action seems to be not eating cereal very often, or viewing it as a treat, not the cornerstone of the meal. I try to keep the mentality that food isn’t poison or medicine (even though I do love the idea that all the kale I eat is giving me super powers), and it’s fine to eat most things in moderation. These shouldn’t be eaten in moderation though. I don’t care if they’re full of arsenic, I would eat at least two. They used to serve them at Smith, and it was always a good day when that happened. I haven’t made them (yet), but I might have to soon.

Healthier breakfasts (meaning not dipped in browned butter and sugar) are good too in their way, and I’ve been thinking about blended frozen bananas for those hot Baltimore summer mornings (I’ve gotten it into my head that the minute I arrive in Baltimore it’ll be a gillion degrees with 4,000% humidity. I basically think I’m moving to…I don’t even know, the sun wouldn’t be humid) when I’m rushing to the shuttle to get to class. I don’t buy that they taste justlikerealicecream!, but they are good, and easy enough to toss into a tupperware and take on the bus. I’m already trying to come up with variations (Peanut butter blended banana! Carrot ginger! Kale and garlic! (Ok, maybe not that last one)).

What it your favorite breakfast food? Favorite breakfast treat?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. For goodness sake, I’m sorry I gave you granola with decorative flax seeds for Christmas. I thought it might be nice to sprinkle on Greek yogurt.

    I’ve had oatmeal with chopped walnuts and banana for breakfast every day this week. It is really delicious and I’m sad that I’m out of bananas so I can’t have it tomorrow. I also love pumpkin oatmeal and eggs various ways.

      • Oh. Well okay then.

        On workout days, I also like sweet potatoes and eggs. Roast a bunch of sweet potatoes ahead of time and reheat them in the mornings – good carbs, good vitamin A, good protein, super delicious.

  2. Pingback: Rugby once, rugby twice, holy jumpin’ Jesus Christ (Part One) « Turn Towards the Sun

Leave a Reply

