Two weeks

Standard

Alumni weekend is in two weeks, and while I’ve come up with a plan that sort of sucks, but keeps my anxiety at a minimum, there’s one thing I’m still struggling with, and that’s my eyebrow ring. I’ve had it for almost a year, but I’ve never even tried to take it out and put it back in again, and I don’t know if it’ll work. It still gets infected on a semi-regular basis (I’ve found thinking, not even saying out loud, but just thinking “Man, my eyebrow piercing looks very healthy” is a good way to predict a flare-up), and having a ring and not a barbell makes it more difficult to change, so that I might go to a piercing parlor and have them take it out for me rather than risk accidentally tearing off the left side of my face (it probably wouldn’t happen, but you never know!), but that just means having it out for even longer than the length of the game, thus increasing the risk of it closing. I have to take it out for school, but that’s still off in the future, so I didn’t have to deal with it yet. Two weeks isn’t a long time at all. I really really like my piercing. Granted, I got it because I was hugely angry and frustrated, and I wanted to do something dramatic (I’d like to think that I’ve matured somewhat since then, but who am I kidding? It’s unlikely that I’ll ever rush off to pierce something the next time I get that angry, but that’s because I’m unlikely to ever feel that way again. Nothing compares to college crew team angst), but as soon as the piercer held up the mirror for me to look I loved it. He seemed surprised at my surprise at how much I liked it, and he pointed out that it was part of my face now, so I had better like it, but I honestly hadn’t given it a ton of thought. I was angry, I acted impulsively, and I got really lucky that I wasn’t then disfigured (depending on who you ask).

My eyebrow ring makes me feel like a badass. It makes me feel tough, and sexy, and as much as I like my bellyring, I love my eyebrow ring a million times more, because it’s so out there. Before I had it everyone was surprised to hear that I had a pierced navel, because it was always hidden by clothes, and because I didn’t seem like the piercing type. An eyebrow ring doesn’t mess around with mystery, it’s right on my face, telling people that I have a bit of a rebellious streak. I’ll miss that. Even though I know piercings don’t make you cool, it makes me feel cooler. It reminds me of last spring, and even though a lot of garbage-y stuff happened, a lot of really great stuff happened too. It has to go though, and there’s no getting around it.

Now, down to brass tacks- when should I do it? I’m not really sure how it’s going to look once I take the ring out, and that makes me a little nervous. A part of me wants to get it over with so I can maximize healing time between now and important first impressions when I move to Baltimore, but I also want to keep it for as long as possible. It’s a tough call.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

    • You make a good point. You should get a neck tattoo too, and then we can be twins!
      There’s a woman in my microbio class who has neck and face tattoos, and I kind of wonder if she ever gets a job as a nurse, what her patients will think.

Leave a Reply

