Rye Bread

Standard

Isn’t rye bread great? It’s so great toasted with scrambled eggs on top, and for turkey sandwiches after Thanksgiving, and with beef barley soup at Christmas, and you can’t have a reuben without rye bread. It’s delicious. Rye bread has been heavily featured at holiday meals in my family my whole life, and today, in honor of Easter (and as a way to use up some of my leftover whey from making yogurt), I gave it a shot. Today for the first time my dad was in the kitchen with me while I baked, but despite the nudging the loaves came out ok. It was cold in our kitchen, which got in the way of the bread rising, but we turned the oven on and put the dough on the stove and then it rose like gangbusters (but I possibly could have let it rise more. The bread didn’t come out leaden, but it’s dense). It was a useful trick, but I doubt cold will be an issue in Baltimore, so I don’t know how much I’ll use it.

Aren’t the unbaked loaves pretty? They smelled amazing. I love bread dough. It’s so nice and alive. I love punching it down, and watching it rise, and just smelling it. The whole house smelled like bread while it was in the oven and it was great. Yeast is a wonderful thing.

Baked loaves! I decided that the loaf on the left was prettier, so it’s coming to Easter breakfast at my grandmother’s house tomorrow, but we broke into the loaf on the left as soon as it was cool enough to slice.

It’s really good. It tastes just like real rye bread! I know it is real rye bread, but I was still thrilled that it worked. The caraway seeds are just delightful, and I used a half cup of whole wheat flour with the rye and regular flours, so it’s nice and hearty, and only slightly coarse. It’s the kind of bread that can stand up in a sandwich.

After the bread came out of the oven I made dinner. I haven’t been cooking much this week, but today I felt inspired. I got a nice local tri tip from the farmer’s market this morning, and I let it marinade in a mix of soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, onion, brown sugar, and ginger for half an hour. I don’t cook a lot of beef, so I didn’t have a great idea of how I should proceed, but I tossed it into a skillet and then finished it in the oven. While the beef cooked I rinsed and sauteed some kale and spinach with lemon juice and red pepper flakes (possibly my favorite seasoning. Certainly one that I use all the time). The meat came out rare, and juicy, and I garnished it with sesame seeds, and the greens were tart and spicy. It was a very nice meal, and made with mostly local ingredients, and tomorrow the leftover beef is going to make one heck of a great sandwich. On rye bread.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

3 responses »

  1. I had rye bread today too and it was fantastic. Once the semester is over I must go back to making my own bread. Also Pierce reports that the Make the Bread, Buy the Butter book is fantastic – he’s read it cover to cover and is now making yogurt and bread. I may need to give yogurt another try – Josh tells me that there was a study that shows it has anti-anxiety properties.

    • Use the website I linked to! And does the study show making or eating yogurt reduces anxiety? My yogurt is very tasty, but I’m a little worried about using it all while it’s still good.

      • Eating. The bacteria in yogurt activate the seratonin in your intestines… somehow… or something. IDK.

Leave a Reply

