Bread bread bread bread

Standard

I kind of love this baking-on-the-weekend thing. I used to think that I was just a bad baker, but in fact I’m just bad at baking cookies, and that’s ok with me. Store cookies are fine most of the time (and all of the time when they’re Oreos), but homemade bread is immeasurably better than store bread (at least sliced store bread), and I’m having a blast experimenting.

Today I made really delicious cinnamon raisin walnut bread. Yesterday at work I was struck by a crazy cinnamon bun craving. I looked at pictures online, and browsed recipes, but that as much as I wanted one, making a whole batch would be a bad idea. Instead, I settled on cinnamon bread, figuring it would be similar, but maybe slightly healthier (yeah…it isn’t really, but I like to pretend). I looked at a few different loaves on foodgawker, and then when the time came to get started I threw out all my research and just went for the first decent-looking recipe I found with my  AllRecipes app. (I’m so jealous of people who can invent their own recipes, but I don’t want to risk disaster, and so it’s unlikely that I’ll ever come up with the next big bread innovation.) In an attempt to be a little inventive I used whole wheat flour, and chopped walnuts in addition to raisins, but I mostly just followed the recipe to be on the safe side (I was worried enough about using a different kind of flour. Apparently it makes a difference?)

About halfway into the recipe I decided that This Was It, and I had finally come to the end of my good bread streak. There was WAY more dough than I expected, and it was heavy, and somehow too sticky and dry at the same time. I thought it would come out a leaden mess, but I was already committed, so I forged ahead anyway, figuring it would be a waste of food otherwise, and I could guilt my parents into eating anything I made, like putting my drawings on the fridge. I’m glad I didn’t give up then, because the bread came out awesome. It’s sweet, and rich, and the nuts are a really nice addition. It’s the kind of hearty bread that you could eat for breakfast before going out to toil in the fields, or take a test, or do some big draining thing, and you’d be so satisfied that you’d achieve your goals and not be hungry until lunch.

It turned out that the recipe makes three loaves, which I would have known if I had read it carefully, but I didn’t, so it was an exciting surprise. I’m going to give two loaves away, but even if that wasn’t the plan I don’t think this bread would stick around to get stale.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

