What if

Standard

My office is doing a lottery thing (I’m fuzzy on the details, but I guess we’re just all buying lottery tickets? All I know is I was asked if I wanted in and I said yes), and it has made me think about what I would do if I won. The boring truth is though, that I would pretty much do what I’m doing now, with just a couple of small tweaks. I would still go to Nursing School, and I would still want to work in underserved areas, and take a year off between my BSN and MSN to work. I’d still go to class, and it’s possible that I would keep my job, just so I wouldn’t be a total recluse for the next couple of months. I think that suggests that I’m having a nice life, even if it seems (and believe me, it can be) very boring sometimes.

Here’s what I would do:

  • Pay back all the student loans. Not just mine, but my sisters’ and brother’s as well. And pay Lillian’s tuition for the next three years, and mine for the rest of nursing school (which might be longer than I planned, because if I suddenly had all the dollars I might get a Ph.D in Nursing. I might still someday, just to have it, but I’m not terribly fussed about it. A Masters is plenty of school as it is)
  • Take/send my mom to France. I would love to travel around myself, but because I’d still have school I couldn’t just drop everything and go anytime in the near future. My dad would also be invited of course, but he doesn’t talk about France the way my mom does. If he ever got her to leave (not likely), he could pick the next place they’d go.
  • Offer my parents the option of retiring. Have you ever noticed that there are a lot of old lawyers? And not a lot of jobs for new, fresh-out-of-law-school lawyers? It’s because they don’t retire. Ever. They work until they drop, like plow horses. Retirement isn’t necessarily good for people, since they tend to get bored, and depressed when they don’t have anything to do, but there are always hobbies, and yoga classes, and long trips to Europe to keep them busy, so if they were up for it I would totally fund their retirements.
  • Buy some land. Nice land, maybe in the woods, or by the ocean (or by a large lake), where I could eventually build a house for vacations. Maybe in Washington State, or Maine, or North Carolina.
  • Buy a car. I haven’t thought about cars too much, but I have a license, and it would be handy. Maybe a Volvo. I like ours, but I wouldn’t want a wagon.

(Not that color though)

  • Sign up for CrossFit. I know you don’t need all the monies to do CrossFit, but it’s something I can’t afford now, and I want to at least try it, so that’s what I’d do.
  • Give Smith and Geneseo a bunch of dough. And I would give Smith Crew something pretty, like a dock. Jane Lynch just gave them a boat, so I’d want to out-do her.

  • Redo my parents’ kitchen. I love it, and it’s the hub of activity in our house, but it doesn’t have great flow, and if you drop something on the floor it disappears forever into the linoleum pattern.
  • Buy a stand mixer. For me. My parents’ have one, and I want one too. It makes baking bread so easy! (That’s actually what inspired this post. I was thinking “I wish I had a mixer for when I get my own place. If only I could win the lottery. I’m serious. Winning the lottery to me = stand mixer.)

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Lily is pressuring me into posting this, but I told her you should buy land in Santa Cruz, California because then you can have woods AND the ocean! (And an awesome town that is very similar to NoHo.)

Leave a Reply

