Not sure I can do it

Standard

For the past few days I’ve been having the same delicious breakfast of toast (whole wheat, after the homemade bread ran out) with Asiago cheese sprinkled on top, and plain yogurt with microwaved frozen raspberries. It’s delicious, and filling, and I love it, but today after microwaving my berries I discovered that we were out of yogurt! The whole meal was thrown off! I scanned the fridge, and then the pantry, looking for some kind of substitute (Sour cream? No. Cold roast beef? No. Beer? …no, probably not a good idea before work. *Sigh*), and settled on some Ezekiel cereal that I bought to make cookies before I realized that it’s like Grapenuts but terrible. I poured the cereal onto my berries, and it immediately sucked up all the moisture and turned into a red soggy mess. Not an auspicious beginning, but I figured I would be able to work with it. Now that I had ruined my berries I decided that the best thing to do would be to buy some yogurt and try to salvage what was turning into a pretty yuck breakfast. We stopped by the drug store on the way into the office to pick up a prescription, and I hopped out to buy some yogurt. At this point I was willing to compromise; I didn’t expect them to have Greek yogurt, so any plain yogurt would have been fine. Beggers being choosers and all that. Except they didn’t have any yogurt at all. They had a lot of beer, so it might have been a good time to reconsider my beer-in-the-cereal plan, but by then I was on a yogurt-seeking Mission, and  was unwilling to deviate from the plan. There is another drug store across the street from my office, so I checked there. No dice. The bodega off the lobby? Nope. It’s appparently really difficult to find any yogurt, let along plain yogurt outside of grocery store settings. You can get a tall boy to sip at your desk, but yogurt is apparently not a workplace-acceptable food, because they just don’t sell it downtown.

Back in the breakroom I gazed at my breakfast. During my search for yogurt it had become cold, and because I’m a grown up person I won’t get into gross descriptions of what my food looked like, but a couple good ones sprang to mind. I added milk, stuck it in the microwave, and hoped for the best. At my desk, I took the first bite, and immediately realized that this was a lost cause. I hate to waste food, especially precious frozen raspberries, but I just can’t bring myself to eat this stuff. Breakfast: 1 Caroline: 0.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

