Yeah, that’s not delicious

Standard

Why do I keep trying to like smoothies? Every time I make some kind of blended slush for breakfast I choke it down, and wish I had eaten something more delicious. It’s true that they’re a good way to get some veggies in first thing in the morning, but so are omlets, and those are tasty and nice. Smoothies aren’t even efficient! It took me forever to get mine to blend today, and even then I had slimey whole spinach leaves in there, lurking like crocodiles. I’m not going to give up though. Maybe I should, but I know that if I say I’m giving up on smoothies I’ll forget after a couple of weeks, and try again, and the whole thing will be for naught. No, I’m just destined to soldier on through chilly, unsatisfying breakfasts, hoping to someday find a smoothie that is both healthy and delicious, the Holy Grail of smoothies.

(This one tasted ok, but it was full of unblended leaves and chunks of fruit, and it just depressed me. And it was thin enough that I should have been drinking it, but instead I ate it with a spoon, and dripped some one my sweater, so it lost points there too.)

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. I’m having a postrun smoothie right now and it’s delicious! I wonder if there’s something wrong with your blender. You may also be trying to cram in too many leaves – start with just a few, maybe just one if it’s something strong like kale. A few tips: put the liquid in first, then put the leaves and blend them really well before adding the fruit. My smoothie today is milk, yogurt, baby spinach leaves, kiwi, banana, and strawberry. It’s very refreshing after a warm run.

Leave a Reply

