Rain rain, come and stay

Standard

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve loved the warm weather we’ve been having. I’ve been running outside, and sleeping with my windows open (oh my God, open window sleep is the best sleep ever. With the fan on, and just a sheet, and it’s actually light when you wake up, it’s incredible), and it’s great. In the summer. We sort of skipped winter, and that was weird, so skipping spring is not an option. I love spring. It’s my favorite season, and I was unhappy with the possibility of missing all the wet, green, lushness, so when I woke up to the sound of rain this morning I was pretty happy. There was a nice chill in the air, and if it didn’t feel quite like March, at least it didn’t feel like June.

Did you know that if you put cut green onions in water they’ll grow? It’s true! They won’t grow forever, so you can’t just buy them once and then have a lifetime supply, but they’ll grow more than you’d think. I did it a couple of weeks ago, with exciting results, but the problem then became that I didn’t need any green onions, let alone a lot of them. I just don’t use them very often, but they sat in their glass of water, silently judging me for not giving them a reason for existing. What was worse, was the fact that they were starting to wilt, and their flopped over stalks seemed so sad. If I hadn’t put them in water they would have dried up and been thrown away, and that would have been the end of it, but because I had gone out of my way to preserve them, they seemed to be asking me “Now what?”.  

In case you missed my last post, I’m super into The Hunger Games, and one of my favorite things that the book really emphasized, but that the movie sort of glossed over, was that Suzanne Collins loves to describe food (and I love to read about food, so it’s perfect!). The protagonist, Katniss, is often on the brink of starvation, so she thinks about food a lot, and when it’s available she’s all about nomming, and so there are some really delicious-sounding meals described in the book. The other night when Lillian and I went to see the movie we had lamb for dinner, which we thought was appropriate, because the characters are really into lamb stew with plums (I’m going to have to experiment with that at some point. It sounds so good!). Another food that gets a lot of press though is bread. One of the characters is a baker, and you can only read about him so much before you want to get your hands flour-y too.

I’ve made bread a couple of times before, but it’s always kind of an adventure. Cooking is fun because you can mess around, and not follow a recipe, and things will still usually come out ok, but baking is science. I didn’t want to go to the store, so I found a nice, basic recipe (Fannie Farmer’s white bread), and just barely tweaked it so I could use those green onions and relieve my guilt. I chopped the onions, and sautéed them in some olive oil, and mixed them in with the second round of flour. If I had been smart, I would have kept the oil I cooked the onions in, and used that to grease the bowl where the bread rose, but I didn’t think of it in time, so I’m just making a note of it for the future. I think it would be good though- it wouldn’t be too much onion flavor, but it would still give it a boost. I was going to add cheese too, but I forgot until the end, so I just sprinkled Asiago cheese on top, but I think that works perfectly well too, and is possibly better, because less cheese = more subtle flavor. A little bit of cheese and a little bit of onion work together really well without beating you over the head, and let the bread have some say in things too, which is a good thing, because the bread itself is light, and soft, and delicious, and just the thing for a rainy day.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

