I’ve had quite a day

Standard

The weather has been very changeable today- rainy in the early morning, then sunny and warm, and by the time I got off work it was cool and foggy. Waiting for the bus I was glad that I had brought my jacket, and I hopped on the first one bus that came by, figuring (foolishly) that all roads lead to Rome, and most buses would get me close to where I needed to be. As it turns out, that isn’t how buses work, and I realized very quickly that I was on The Wrong Bus, and it was on its way to Sketchytown. Most of the time I can forget that Buffalo is super economically depressed, but passing all the once-beautiful but now really run down houses really drove that point home, and I had to accept that the bus wasn’t going to stop anywhere that would be safe for me to get off and walk. I figured I would just ride until the bus got back to the stop where I got on, and then get off and catch a bus that would actually take me home, but fortunately, the bus stopped in a neighborhood that seemed safe-ish, so I hopped off there and just walked home. It was a kind of long walk, and but it gave me a chance to practice walking somewhere without talking on the phone or listening to music, which is something I almost never do, but will have to start, since not being mindful of your surroundings is unsafe.

When I got home I had even more adventures in store, because there was a bird in our tv room! I was the only one home, and I was prepared to just walk away and let the bird have the house, or at least the tv room, but my parents were less than enthusiastic about that idea when I called them, and wanted me to get rid of it. Right. They hadn’t seen it though, so I sent them a picture, figuring that once they understood that it was practically a pterodactyl they would come around to my way of thinking.

No such luck. I called my aunt who lives down the street, but she wasn’t answering her phone, so I went to Plan B, which was going next-door and asking my neighbor to come help me. I don’t know him very well, despite the fact that he has a son my age, and he’s about as intimidating as they come, but as it turns out, he’s less scary than a trapped bird, and he very nicely came right over with a tennis racket and some kind of net. We ran around trying to get the bird into position for about twenty minutes, and then he just gave up and hit it with the racket (and stunned it. The bird didn’t die), and put it in a paper bag to be taken outside.  Birds are freaking scary. I never would have been able to handle it without my neighbor, and he is totally getting cookies for his trouble (not cookies that I made though, good cookies, that I’m going to get my sister to make).

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

4 responses »

      • I wound up making wheat germ raisin cookies and using a chicken cookie cutter to make them bird-shaped. It worked out pretty well, and we got the warm cookie scraps, so everyone was happy. Probably. No one was answering the door, so I left Mr. Vogelsang’s cookies on the mat.

Leave a Reply

