Deserving of a shout out

Standard

I didn’t do anything to make this meal possible (other than request it), but it was so darn tasty that I have to post about it. Boiled dinner accomplished. 🙂

My dad didn’t even want to make it, since his experience with boiled dinner was so negative. To him it conjured an image of gray meat and lumpy veggie mush, but he’s a good sport, so he looked up a recipe and gave it a shot. I didn’t witness most of the process, but I know he cooked the corned beef in a slow cooker for ten hours the night before, and then put it in the fridge in the liquid to set, or chill, or marinade, I don’t know. (I’m also not sure what spices he used, but I know that there were pepper corns, and cloves.) Last night after work and driving practice we came home, and he sliced the meat, and put it in a pan on top of the pot of veggies, which he cooked in the meat juices, so the meat was warmed by the steam, but not cooked into submission (I think. I should have been watching, so I could do it myself later, but I wanted to finish my trashy caterer novel). It was seriously heaven. Salty, beefy heaven. The veggies were still firm, but full of corned beef flavor, and the meat was so tender we could have eaten it with a spoon. A dollop of mustard on the side was a pleasant addition, but not really necessary, since everything was so delicious on its own. The giant hunk of meat that intimidated me before cooked down considerably, and now we have enough left over for reubens for dinner, and what promises to be a delightful hash for tomorrow’s breakfast.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

