All grown up and driving legally

Standard

I passed my road test! I was so nervous, and my parallel park was terrible (and she didn’t let me do it again, she just told me to maneuver in the spot, and let me flail around pathetically for what felt like hours before giving up and pulling out), and I almost blew through a stop sign (I was very focused on making my turn look good, but I did stop!), but I passed! None of this is inspiring confidence in other drivers, but I swear, I’m actually very safe behind the wheel. Really, just ask the state of New York.

I went into my test with pretty low expectations. I practiced parallel parking last night with my dad, and things were at like 84%, but then there was a minor incident with another car, and the driver felt the urge to follow me in order to flip me off, so I wasn’t feeling super confident. My dad mocked me a little for being so thin-skinned, but being flipped off and honked at is hurtful! I was so nervous about my test that I wound up having a nightmare about zombies and the cast of Glee (*shudder*) that was so scary I woke myself up and had to listen to “One Prairie Outpost” in order to fall back asleep. So that wasn’t ideal. I felt better when I woke up for real, but driving to the test I was literally shaking with nerves (not fear, just adrenalin), and my hands were sweating. I had a good luck charm though, in the form of my mockingjay pin (yes, I am an adult who wears accessories based on YA fiction. At least I wasn’t packing a plastic hobbit in my pocket (which I did occasionally on test days in middle school. I had a big thing for Elijah Wood). I never said I wasn’t a huge nerd, far from it), and it was actually sort of reassuring. My test also started at 11:11, which I took as a good sign. After my disasterous parking job I was pretty sure I had failed, and was wondering if I would have time to schedule another test before I move, but I didn’t fail, and all was well. It’s just a slip of paper, and I don’t know how much of an effect it will have on my driving habits, but I’m proud of myself for passing my test. It’s a nice kick-off for the weekend, and it was an item on my Buffalo Bucket List.

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Congratulations! This is really good news. As for your HG pin, don’t worry about it – whatever makes you feel confident. In high school I always wore clothes that I’d previously worn to They Might Be Giants concerts on test days, so I get it. Whatever works!

    Spring break is coming up and I promise to read the Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

