Soda bread!

Standard

Yesterday was probably my last ever Spring Break (I’m off from school this week, and even though I don’t work on Tuesdays because I’m in class for most of the day, so I could have worked yesterday, I wanted to have at least a short break. From now on when I’m “on break” from school I’ll want to pick up as many shifts at the hospital as possible, so this really was it. Goodbye vacation, it’s been fun) so I made sure to take advantage of it, and made soda bread! It was my first ever attempt, and I think it came out really well. It came out of the oven looking a little…Cajun in some places, since the inside took longer to cook than the outside, but it tastes really good, and both of my parents were pleasantly surprised at its deliciousness. I give the raisins full credit, they really make all the difference, so I added extra for good measure, and I’m glad I did. Not to brag, or compare myself to the pros, but if my loaf had somehow found its way to the Smith dining hall while I was there (it’s time-traveling bread, go with it) I would have taken a slice home in a napkin to eat while studying. It’s that good. And it’s super easy to make! I see a lot of soda bread in my future.

Unfortunately, signals got crossed about the boiled dinner part of the show, but I have a bloody hunk of corned beef sitting in the fridge now, just waiting to be made delicious later this week, so stay tuned for that. It’s a slightly terrifying amount of meat, but we’re going to make it work.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

