Cravings

Standard

I want some corned beef and cabbage, and soda bread with raisins. I don’t miss college, but I have to admit that it was just easier when I was on a meal plan. St. Patrick’s Day came around, and I was guaranteed some boiled dinner, but now if I’m going to have it I have to make it myself. The upside of course, is that then there’ll be extra corned beef hanging around, begging to be made into hash, my very favorite breakfast food, quinoa be darned. You could always count on hash for breakfast at school the day after St. Patrick’s dinner, and I loved it. Corned beef hash with a poached egg and some rye toast is probably the best breakfast around, especially if you’ve been up for hours rowing in the rain. Which is also something I miss about college. Maybe now that it’s getting brighter earlier I’ll try to get up for a run now and then, because morning workouts are by far my favorite (I did an ok job of getting my lazy self to the gym last week, but waiting until after work makes it that much less likely that I’ll feel like exercising. Better to get it done first thing). But back to corned beef. It’s delicious, and  I need to make some.

I saw these dinosaur planters the other day, and now I really want a dinosaur planter herb garden. I really really want one. I would put basil in the brontosaurus, and mint in the T-Rex, and thyme in the triceratops, and rosemary in the stegosaurus, and it would be awesome. It would be so whimsical! But, I went to practically every toy store in the city and I couldn’t find the right kind of dinosaur! I want a hard plastic hollow dinosaur, the kind that you would play with in the sandbox, but they’re nowhere to be found. I looked at The Treehouse, I looked at Toys ‘R Us, I looked at Claytons, Target, The Dollar Tree, and Big Lots, and not one of them had what I need. There were plenty of dinosaurs (and tons of dragons. I guess dragons are In right now, along with pinstripes and orphans), but they were all either solid plastic (which seems dangerous. Some of these dragons and dinosaurs are pretty heavy, and I remember on more than one occasion being whalloped with a plastic dinosaur. I was ok because they were the hollow kind, but these could really do some damage), or squishy (I guess those are meant for the more violent children). It was very discouraging, but I haven’t given up hope yet. If I can’t find any dinosaurs I’m considering using a piggy bank, but by golly, I will have plants in a plastic animal!

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. I love this idea! I guess that now it’s in the 70s here in Missouri (which is WEIRD and WRONG but whatever) I should start thinking about my garden. I think I’m going to concentrate on herbs this year, and probably I should think about starting some seeds indoors. What I’d really like to do is lemongrass because you can’t buy it ANYWHERE here, but I’d need a cutting so I don’t know.

    • Does your neighbor have it? She seems to have an impressive garden, and I’m sure she’d give you a cutting. Also, did you know that if you put cut green onions in a glass of water they’ll grow? It isn’t strictly speaking related to what we were talking about, but I think it’s cool because I love green onions, so I wanted to share.

      • She does, and I’m sure she would. She gave me a whole bunch last season and I froze it, but I doubt it’ll grow once it’s been frozen… or will it? Green onions are also a good idea. I need to keep my garden low-maintenance this year.

Leave a Reply

