An exciting experiment

Standard

I like to experiment. When I was a kid I loved making mixtures of soap, and toothpaste, and whatnot (I called it dippity doo), and now that I’m a grown up person, about to set off on the adventure that is independent living, I like experimenting with food. My plan for surviving this summer is to use my parents’ Costco account to buy a giant bag of quinoa at the start of the summer, and then just live off of that until I get some funding, hopefully for the fall semester. With that in mind, my latest concoction won’t really be in the cards, since it contains fresh mango, and milk, and other frivolities that I won’t have, but I wanted to try it anyway, and so here it is…Breakfast Quinoa! It isn’t anything too controversial, and I’m sure lots of people enjoy quinoa in the morning, but this was my first attempt, and so it’s new to me. I cooked the quinoa a few evenings ago (I added cinnamon to the water for some extra flavor), and mixed in sesame and chia seeds, then for good measure, I stuck in a cinnamon stick so it would be really cinnamon-y (it still wasn’t). When I wanted to eat the stuff I added some milk, maple syrup, and mango, heated it in the microwave, and boom! breakfast. It’s actually pretty good, but I suspect a lot of that is due to the mango, which would make socks taste good. And the fact that I ate it out of an Eloise bowl, which is known to make things up to 70% more delicious. You have to eat quinoa for breakfast or you’ll dry up. Anybody knows that.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

