Do you want a medal?

Standard

A lot of the time when I think something is really funny it’s because it resonates with the way I think. Hark! A Vagrant is funny because I’m a big nerd, so I like the history and literary references, and because I love Canada,I like The Comics Curmudgeon because it’s mean, and overly invested in Funky Winkerbean, and I like Hyperbole and a Half because the author, Allie Brosch, seems to function about as well as I do, which is to say not at all. She has a whole post on why she’ll never be an adult, and if it wasn’t much much funnier than I’m capable of being, I could have written it. I always feel like I should get some kind of prize when I do basic things that are important for functioning in society, like emptying the dishwasher, or taking out the trash, and yet no one ever recognizes it! I never get parades, or cakes, or keys to the city for doing chores, and yet I keep having to do jobs, and it just seems wrong. Why else would I do things like laundry, or cleaning out the fridge, if not to win glory? This, I think, is going to be one of the things that makes me a challenging roommate. I don’t expect praise for taking steps to ensure I don’t live in filth, but that doesn’t mean that in the corner of my mind I don’t want it. Fortunately, my threshold for reenforcement is crazy low, and what I lack in innate tidiness I make up for in a labrador-like need to please, so I doubt I’ll let my spaces in my future apartment get too bad, but a little recognition is always nice. Maybe I should go on a sticker system.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. That’s one of the things I love about my marriage: if I clean the counter, I say, “Look, I am an awesome wife who cleaned the counter!” and then Josh administers praise. Everyone wins, because I get praise and he gets clear instructions about how to make me glad without having to guess.

Leave a Reply

