So soon!

Standard

I will be on my way to Baltimore in a matter of days! Today was my last day of classes before going! Even better, my professor moved my test back until after Spring Break, so that’s a weight off my mind. I was worried about what taking a test right after missing a class would be like, and now I don’t have to find out.

Someone in my class told me that she’s pregnant with twins, already had an eight-year old at home, and is starting Nursing School in September. It sometimes feels like I’m the only person at ECC who doesn’t have kids, which makes me feel like a huge slacker for not automatically getting the best grade in my class because I have so much less on my plate. I can’t even think about bringing a dog into my life, and these people have babies, and jobs, and bills, and all that on top of homework and tests. It’s kind of crazy. It’s also kind of humbling, because I like to think I know stuff about pregnancy, and birth, and babies because I’ve read some books, and interned with a midwife. I know what the hormones do, but I haven’t experienced it, and I know various tips for managing labor pain, but I haven’t felt it, and these people have, and so aren’t interested in my opinions. Which is understandable, and I fortunately picked up on it without saying anything silly, but it still made me feel very sheltered and naive. I have a lot to learn, but I don’t think I’ll ever feel 100% confident until I’ve had children of my own. But puppies first.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

