Back to blogging

Standard

Three days after getting LASIK, and I’m finally back to feeling kind of normal. I don’t know why I was so surprised at how uncomfortable I felt all weekend, but I was very out of sorts when the numbing drops they put in my eyes wore off, and my eyes felt like they were on fire. All weekend. It was not fun. I listened to a lot of This American Life, and took all the naps, but there really isn’t much that you can do when your eyes are all blurry (they dilated them twice in two days, which was bothersome, since it made me really sensitive to light, and messed up my vision, so I couldn’t even tell if it was working and so worth the discomfort) and painful, so it was a low-key weekend. Things are looking up now though, so that’s great. It’s a healing process, so my vision is going to improve gradually over the next few weeks, but I can already see better than I have in years, and I don’t need my glasses at all. I’m calling it a win.

The actual surgery was really interesting. There were serveral people ahead of me in line, but that meant that I was able to see the before and after, and it was encouraging that everyone pulled through, and came out smiling after what seemed like no time at all. They have a window into the operating room, so my dad got to watch the whole procedure, which I’m told is much more disturbing than having it done, but my he said it was “a lot less spooky looking than you would imagine”. Personally, I was picturing a mash-up of A Clockwork Orange and Doctor Evil’s sharks with laser beams on their heads, but it wasn’t actually that bad. There were bright lights, and disturbing laser noises, but the doctor and nurses talked me through the entire procedure, and were nothing but encouraging and pleasant. I can’t say I enjoyed myself, but it wasn’t terrible, and now I don’t have to wear glasses anymore, so yay. They actually gave me a pair of champagne flutes after the procedure, as a little joke about the only kind of glasses I’ll need now, which was cute. Of course, the glasses have Fichte, Endl, Elmer EyeCare engraved on the sides, making them extra classy, but it’s just another nice thing to add to a very positive eyecare experience.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

