Lent

Standard

I had a wonderful mandolin lesson last night. I haven’t mentioned it on the blog lately, but I’ve been keeping up with it, and it’s great, and makes me really happy. Last night I told my instructor that I needed something new, and he whipped out a hornpipe that he had been saving for me, and we spent the thirty minutes slowly picking out the notes. I think figuring out how to piece a song together after hearing it may be one of the best feelings ever. He doesn’t write it down for me, so I just have to memorize it, which is tricky, but forces me to practice a whole lot. My instructor is so great- he offered to keep up with my lessons via Skype when I move to Baltimore, which might be a really good solution, since I’ll be so busy with school.

After my lesson I emerged to cast my shadow and go to trivia with my cousin Alex. We joined forces with the 20somethings MeetUp group, and even though we didn’t win (we were tied for first, but lost a lot of points on an Elvis question), it was nice to break out of the routine, and spend time with people my own age.  My cousin is a lot of fun to hang out with too, and after trivia we went back to my house and ate chicken gumbo and planked around. He’s moving to Boston next week, to get trained to teach English as a foreign language, and then who knows where he’ll go? He’s thinking Korea, which would be amazingly cool, but it’ll be weird not having him around.

I always try to take Lent seriously. It doens’t always work out, because sometimes life just gets in the way, but I think it’s a great time to take stock of your situation, and makes changes that can bring you closer to God, and the kind of life you want to be living. I’ve gone the giving up sweets route, and it’s challenging, but not really about anything other than the urge to lose weight, so I don’t do that anymore. For the past few years I’ve given up skipping church though, which I think is better. I should be going anyway, but since I’ve been in Buffalo I’ve only gone a handful of times, so it will require some effort, especially when I go to Baltimore in March. I’m kicking a few other ideas around as well, but I’ve read that it’s better not to tell people when you set a goal, because it gives you a false sense of achievement before you’ve even done anything, so I’ll keep it to myself for now, and  post later if I’m successful.

Are you observing Lent this year?

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. I’ve mostly heard the opposite: telling others about the goal helps you meet it because you feel responsible to them. If I decide not to run the half this April, I’ll have people asking me “How’s your training going?” and I’ll feel like a quitter.

    As for Lent, Josh and I are giving up TV shows, which will be interesting as it’s how we often unwind on weekday nights after work. The plan is that we’ll use some of the time we normally spend watching How I Met Your Mother to pray and read the Bible. Maybe also Scrabble. It should be a good experience.

    • I can see how it would work either way, and I think I heard that you shouldn’t share your goals from Cosmo or something, so you have to consider the source. 🙂
      Are you also giving up movies? Cuz that would be really hard. It sounds like a good way to unwind though. I keep thinking about reading the Bible- I never read it for religious reasons, but maybe I should.
      Do you play Bananagrams? Mum and I have been playing a couple of games after dinner most nights, and it’s ten-fun.

      • It’s good to read the Bible; you might think about getting some kind of study guide to help you understand what you read. There are lots.

        You might also think about reading some non-Bible religious writings during Lent – C.S. Lewis is my favorite, Richard Foster is also super good, or maybe some lives of the saints type thing would be up your alley.

        We are still going to watch movies, and Josh will still watch sports, but that’s not really for weeknights.

  2. Idk, Dad always wants to either watch movies or Battlestar (which I know you love, but I hate. Weren’t you Starbuck for Halloween?) on weeknights. I will consider reading religious things during Lent- I liked The Red Tent, so maybe more things along those lines? That isn’t really what you were proposing, but it’s closer to being up my alley.

    • Enh, I like BSG, but it’s so stressful we never watch it. At the end of a long day it’s just too much. I was Starbuck, though, that’s true.

      I’ve never read the Red Tent, but whatever gets you thinking about God. We are talking about Lent, after all.

  3. A lot of Madeline L’Engle might fall into Red-Tent area. You might also enjoy Sheldon Vanauken’s A Severe Mercy, which is good and very romantic but annoying in places.

Leave a Reply

