Ass Bandit

Standard

There’s a very funny sketch from A Bit of Fry and Laurie where Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry talk about the terrible degradation of the english language, and how lovely words like “gay” and “homosexual” can no longer be used in casual conversation without being taken to mean…well to mean homosexual, but that’s kind of the gag, so I’m not doing a great job of describing the joke. But it’s hilarious! Anyway, that’s how I feel about the word “Friday”, specifically, the happy exclamation of  the word. Rebecca Black ruined it. I wanted to post something along the lines of “Whoo! It’s Friday!”, and now the song is stuck in my head. I am excited that this week is almost over though, because it just brings me that much closer to 1. eye surgery, and 2. Baltimore! I RSVP’ed for my accepted students day yesterday, and they sent me a long list of things I need to do before May (background check, drug test, etc.), so I have my work cut out for me.

This weekend looks promising. My aunt is coming over for dinner tonight, and even though I don’t have any idea what we’re serving (we have a haystack of kale, but not much else) it’s always nice to see her. Saturday is the Buffalo Rugby Club Winter Sevens Tournament, which is pretty exciting. I’ve only been once, my freshman year of college, when I was still at Geneseo, but it was a total blast. The Geneseo team is going to be there, and even though the last of my friends graduated in December it’ll be nice to see my old coach and watch some exciting rugby action. My friend Oaks is going to be visiting too, so we’ll get to hang out, and we have tentative plans to get lunch after the tournament. She’s starting an accelerated nursing program at Villanova this spring, so we’ll get to compare notes, and she actually spent a summer volunteering at a clinic in Africa, which I’ll want to hear about in painstaking detail. It’s sort of humbling, knowing so many killer badasses, but it’s mostly inspiring. I haven’t seen Oaks since I transferred though, so I’m primarily excited to spend some time with a really amazing person, and reestablish our bond a bit.

It’s supposed to be kind of nasty weather-wise on Saturday, but the year I played in the tournament there was a foot of snow on the ground. Hopefully the ground won’t be too hard, and people will have a muddy landing, as opposed to a frozen one. I know I’ve mentioned it before, but I really do miss playing rugby. The Geneseo team has an Alumni Weekend every spring, and I might be able to go this year for the first time as an alum (it’s usually scheduled right in the middle of finals, which made coming from Massachusetts impossible, even before taking regattas into account). It’s a weekend of debauchery, and rugby, and I had a lot of fun the year I was on the team (though not quite as much fun as I expected, since the vets made it sound like Mardi Gras and Christmas rolled into one), but I’m so different now (or at least I like to think so). I’m also, and this is something I’ve been avoiding admitting to people when they ask if I’m going to play rugby in Baltimore, a little afraid to go back to the game. Not even because I’m older, and more rickety, and have knee problems, but because I’m afraid of sucking. Even in an alumni game, where half the players are half-drunk. When I went to the Buffalo State v. Geneseo game this past fall my coach said I could play B-side if I got my kit, but I chickened out, and made an excuse about my eyebrow ring, because I’m afraid to step back onto the pitch. And for that matter, I’m a little afraid to go to a rugby party again, which makes possibly going Alumni Weekend seem terrifying. If I can though, if I’m still in Buffalo, and my finals aren’t too hairy, I’ll go. I’ll suck it up, and go back to Geneseo (I’ve wanted to go back to visit since I left, but I never did. Man, do I need to get my license), and play some rugby, and eat some barbecue, and drink responsibly, and not act like the in-over-my-head, freaked out, emotional whirlwind 19-year old that I was when I used to live there.  Because I can do that now, because I’m (kind of) an adult.

So that turned into a long post about issues. It kind of got away from me there- I was supposed to be writing about weekend plans. So…Sunday is a family birthday party for my aunt! And a Polish heritage festival! I’m not going to lie, the perogies are a large part of the appeal, but there will also be music, and dancing, and Polish people love them some accordion music, so I’m pumped. (The picture made more sense when I ended the post on a “woo, birthday cake” note, but it’s a gingerbread Hogwarts, so I’m leaving it up. They even made Hagrid’s hut!)

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

