Ready to go

Standard

I think I sleep too much. Isn’t that a terrible thing to say? Too much sleep? Ugh. I’ve always taken sleep really seriously, especially after I joined crew, but I think I could do with less. I stayed up later than usual last night, and woke up easily earlier than usual this morning, and now I feel great.

Last night my mom and I watched the last episode of Downton Abbey that was available on Netflix, and when it was over we were immediately sorry that we hadn’t paced ourselves, because it’s like six weeks into the new season, and time jumps around so much on that show that it would be too confusing to just jump in now (seriously, the first season spans more than two years? Where is Downton? Narnia?). We’re so hooked though, that we flipped to PBS and not only jumped in mid-season, we came in mid-episode and watched the latest installment (it was very confusing, and we quickly learned not to get too attached to some new characters). Rather than fulfilling our craving though, skipping to the middle of Season Two just made us want more still, so we wound up buying the first episode of Season Two and watching it right then and there, despite the lateness of the hour, and having work in the morning. We are addicted. I can’t even fully put my finger on why I like it so much- most of the characters are terrible people, and the sisters are sabotage-y jerks, and we don’t even know the dog’s name, but I love it. It’s very beautiful, which helps. The clothes, the furniture, the people, are all just lovely. It’s also an interesting companion to The Pursuit of Love, which is set in (about) the same time, and also follows the lives of young upper class ladies, but is nothing like Downton Abbey. The Crawleys are for the most part terrible Counter-Hons (the exception being Sybil, who I want to kiss. She has the most beautiful mouth, and hasn’t done anything evil…yet), but I can’t look away.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

