Ohhh right

Standard

Early last spring I was in the best shape of my life. It was kind of awesome. I looked good, I felt good, I performed well, and I almost broke an 8 minute 2k (which isn’t that impressive, but I’m 5’4″). The thing is though, that you can’t just coast on being in the best shape of your life- you have to maintain it, and I didn’t. I got fed up at the end of my spring season, and then I hurt my knee running a race I wasn’t prepared for (rowing 2k’s doesn’t really prep you for running half marathons), and then I just…stopped. I lost steam, and I moved back home, and while I go to the gym sometimes, it isn’t enough to maintain anything like the level of fitness I used to have. I want to get back there. I’ve been thinking about it, and I miss my strong, sexy, badass legs. I want to get back to where I was. I want to run a half marathon that I’ve actually trained for. Heck, I want to do a tri. And that means lots of hard work. Lots and lots. I like to think back on training, and remember how great it was when I was too sore to get up on my only-slightly lofted bed, but that’s because it’s in the past. When you’re living it, being sore sucks. It hurts. I did a ZWOD workout last night, and it was brutal. Pistol squats are my new least favorite things in the world. It was a gorgeous day today, so after class I decided to run home. No big deal, I’ve done it before, but not in awhile, and yikes. Running is painful. And it makes my feet ugly. My knee started hurting about halfway home, but I pushed through. I told myself “just until the JCC”, “just until the church”, “just until the corner”, and I made it all the way home on that. Of course, now my knee hurts, and I have to hobble around, but it’ll go away. It isn’t injury-hurting, just something I have to live with, and it should actually go away as I get back into running and my body stops objecting so much. I’ll get abs and it’ll see, and remember how nice they are, and get on board, but for now it isn’t fun. It’s worth it though.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

