Content? I don’t need no stinkin’ content

Standard

Talking about your pets is like talking about your dreams (something I’ve also been known to do)- it’s fun, but boring to listen to. Unless your animals do something that is actually interesting, like dial 9-1-1 when your house is on fire, or learn to play guitar, most people don’t care enough to hear about them. I’m just as bored as the next person by pet stories,  but that isn’t going to stop me from writing about my cat’s adorable antics.

My cat (and I think cats in general), is obsessed with water. She used to drink out of the sink, but because my mom decided that was too wasteful, we aren’t allowed to turn it on for her anymore. Instead, she got her a little kittie fountain, figuring it would provide her with the running water she loves, without letting the faucet run, which wastes a bunch of water. In theory, it should have worked, but instead, the cats just use the fountain for washing their feet. It probably feels nice, being able to get the cat litter off, but it makes the water pretty gross, and so Lancaster (my cat) is always on the look-out for a better way to get a drink. I thought a good solution would be to secretly let her drink from the sink when my mom isn’t around, but Lancaster has actually internalized the idea that she isn’t allowed to do that anymore. She’ll sit on the edge of the sink, staring at the water, but she won’t drink it, and then she’ll jump down to the floor and drink from the very top of the cat fountain, to avoid the sediment that collects at the base. (It’s like elementary school, when the water fountains barely worked, and you had to put your mouth right at the spigot, and some people put their mouths on it, grossly, making you really wonder whether you were so thirsty that it was worth drinking after them.) At night though, a new option presents itself, and Lancaster quickly learned that it is in her best interest to be in my room when I get ready for bed. About a month ago, I got a humidifier, and Lancaster is slightly obsessed with it. She knows there’s water inside, and I’ve walked in on her trying to shove her head into the opening at random times throughout the day. She can’t quite reach though, so instead she waits until I fill it up at night, and then she makes her move.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

