Deep breaths

Standard

I took a half day. After Marquette told me that my recommendation never arrived and I missed the deadline I briefly melted down, but now I’m ok. Thanks in part, to The Academic Ruin Special, aka the best cake-in-a-mug I’ve had so far. It still wasn’t great, but adding the flour last made it less rubbery, and if you put enough chocolate chips and whipped cream on anything it’ll be decent.

I put some food on top of my problems, and then I actually dealt with them and called the school. It was never their fault, and so I wasn’t mad at them, so I was able to act like a rational person, and they responded well. If I get them a recommendation soon, they might still consider me, and Da*id Pal*er is on the case. Have I mentioned how much I love him? He’s such a great person, and teacher, and he makes me feel safe in a way that not a lot of people do. Is that weird? I don’t even know him that well, but I trust him completely. I know he’ll do what he can to help me, and if things don’t work out it won’t be anyone’s fault. I’ll have tried, he’ll have tried, the professor whose recommendation got lost will have tried, and sometimes these things just happen. I was so mad at my adviser today. He was supposed to write my recommendation originally, and he just didn’t. He never told me he wasn’t going to, he never said anything, I haven’t heard from him since he said he would help me. I had to ask a relative stranger to help me because he dropped the ball so completely, but this particular Marquette thing wasn’t his fault. The relative stranger turned out the be really helpful, and things could have turned out ok if it hadn’t been for a mistake with the mail. I can’t blame my adviser if my application gets thrown out. These things happen. With any luck it’ll be ok. I got my first taste of grad school rejection today though, and it wasn’t the end of the world. I’m resilient, and I’ll make it through this process, even when it completely sucks.

 

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. I’m sorry, buddy. I remember that process and it’s the worst. But you’ll end up where you need to be, have no fear.

    Everything happens.

Leave a Reply

