Back to winter

Standard

When I tell people that I’m from Buffalo the first thing they usually say is something negative about our weather (or our sports teams), and yes, we do traditionally get snowy winters, but so do a lot of cities. This year though, winter has been struggling to assert itself. We had a green Christmas, and it wasn’t until last week that we had any shovel-worthy snow, and then yesterday it rained and washed it all away. Winter is rallying though, and last time I checked it was snowing away, determined to make up for lost time. I’d like a blizzard, so I could go home and spend the day drinking tea and reading Wuthering Heights (with some GRE studying mixed in, since I’m taking it again on Saturday), but I’m not getting my hopes up.

I got an email today from Seattle, saying they’re going to contact people for interviews in February. Admission decisions will be sent out by the second week of March, but if I don’t get called about an interview I could know in a couple of weeks. Seattle is sort of my canary-in-a-coal-mine school, since it isn’t as highly ranked as the other programs I applied to (I wouldn’t call it a safety, but it felt more likely that they would take me, as opposed to say, Hopkins), and even though the schools aren’t in cahoots, and one rejection won’t mean not getting in anywhere I was hoping to hear back from the fancy schools first. Because then if I didn’t get in I would still have hope that the less swank places might take me. I can’t do anything at this point, save saying a little prayer, but I wish my aunt had given me a grad school-shaped milangro instead of a man. I want an acceptance letter several kajillion times more than a boyfriend right now.

Update: Marquette never got my third recommendation, so they threw my application out. Fuck. Fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

