Yes

Standard

I remember reading story about how John Lennon met Yoko Ono when he went to her art show, and one of the pieces was a ladder you climb up, with a magnifying glass that you look through, and written on the ceiling was the word “yes”. And he was in such a negative space at the time, and felt like he was hearing “no” all the time, that it just resonated with him, and as you know, the rest was history. I haven’t been experiencing too much negativity, but last night and today were positive enough that I feel shaken out of a rut, and like I just got a big “yes”.

My friend Cory got in around 9:00 last night, and we went on Elmwood looking for somewhere to hang out, get some food, and drink a bit. I’m not exaggerating when I say that I never go out, so it was something of a challenge, but we eventually went to Coles, with half and hour to spare before the kitchen closed, so Cory got to have dinner. She ordered a burger and got…some kind of local beer, and I had a Magic Hat #9 and helped nom her fries. The dining room was almost empty, and so we got to sit and chat happily without being interrupted. I actually hadn’t seen Cory since last winter, since she was abroad when I graduated, so there was a lot of ground to cover, but it felt as natural as it always does.

This morning we went to Niagara Falls, which is always great. It was rainy and cold, but those are sometimes the best days to go because it’s less crowded, and it’s misty and beautiful. We strolled around the rapids, and checked out the falls. I grew up near the falls (near-ish at least), so I’m kind of used to it, and I love going with people who have never been. We strolled around, and got sprayed with cold mist, and watching the rapids made Cory think that she might want to work as a rafting guide after she graduates (which would be a 100% awesome job). Time was kind of an issue though, so we only stayed for about an hour before heading back to Buffalo, and then Cory was back on the road again.

The rest of the day was spent on applications and whatnot until my mom came home and we had an all-veggie dinner of brussels sprouts, sweet potatoes, and carrots, in an attempt to use things before they went bad. It wasn’t a terrible dinner, and it was certainly filling, in the nice, not-stuffed, vegetable way, but it lacked vision. After dinner my mom proposed a rousing round of Scrabble, which turned into three rounds, and was excellent. I come from a family of Scrabble fiends, so the competition was stiff, but I actually won a round (“fez” on a double word space). Grey’s was a little disappointing last night, which was surprising, since the featured surgery should have been so cool, but the best part was Karev getting hustled out of operating, and that isn’t a lot to recommend an episode. The scenes for next week look promising though, since Christina and Owen might break up, leaving him available for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

