The Hunger Games

Standard

When the Harry Potter books were still coming out I made sure to get my hands on a copy the first day they hit the shelves (I even went to Walmart at midnight once). I would read them as fast as I could, and then I’d usually read them again to catch any details I’d missed the first time. It was so exciting, and I would tear through them, dying to read what happened next. I love to read, but very few books do that to me. It’s rare to find something that draws you in so completely, and I really missed that feeling when the series ended, but now I have it back. I’ve been meaning to read The Hunger Games for months, but I kept putting it off until my aunt brought me a copy Friday night. I stayed up until after 1:00 to keep reading, I just couldn’t put it down. I kept telling myself “just one more chapter”, and that turned into reading half the book in a sitting. These books are the real deal. I found my eyes jumping to the bottom of the page because I couldn’t wait until I had read that far to know what happened. When I woke up on Saturday morning I knew I had to get the second book that day, because I would be done with the first in a matter of hours, and I would need another fix. They didn’t have it at the local bookstore though, so it was tacked onto a longer list of errands. I wanted to spend the whole day holed up with my book, but instead I read in the car on the way to the dry cleaner’s, and then while I waited for my pictures to be dry mounted, and while I got my mandolin’s action lowered. I read all day, and into the night, and by 2:20 this morning I had finished the first and second books. I actually bought the third as well, but I told myself that I should hold off, and not start the last book until I send in all of my January 15 grad school applications. It’s probably the best motivation ever, because I am dying to read that book. I’ve been thinking about it all day. It’ll be better as a reward though, so this is the best solution. Can I just say though, for anyone who has read the books, I love Peeta. He makes Edward Cullen look like a joke (I mean even more than usual), and I’m really glad these books are so popular, because they are the anti-Twilight, and I’m glad kids are reading about strong female characters and romances that aren’t creepy and unhealthy. That makes me glad.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

