Ethics

Standard

What kind of things are ok to buy and sell? Goods and services are usually good, but people (not everyone, but a lot of people) are opposed to selling sex, which could be called a service. You can’t sell human organs, but those aren’t really “goods” the way a book or a chair is a good. Animals can be bought and sold though, and they’re more aware than human organs, which doesn’t mean anything really, but is sort of strange to consider (I don’t endorse selling human organs). You can’t pay someone to kill someone else for you, but that’s because murder is illegal. You can’t hire someone to take a test for you, but people do it all the time. It’s obviously unethical though, so that doesn’t work for my purposes. Can you pay someone for their spot in a class? If the class is full, and you really need to take it, is it ok to offer someone money for their spot? It seems sort of wrong, but I don’t know why. If they need to take the class, and they can’t take it some other time they can just say no, so it doesn’t harm them at all. If I don’t get into my class this spring I’m screwed. All of my applications hinge on me being done with my pre-reqs by May. When all is said and done, this process is costing me about a thousand dollars (holy cow) what with application fees and taking and retaking the GRE, and that isn’t even going into the emotional costs, which have been a bucketful of laughs. I have to get into this class (For the record, I wasn’t irresponsible about registering, non-matriculating students get hosed when it comes to this kind of thing. We don’t get to register until everything is totally picked over, and by that time the class at Buff State was full, and the class at ECC wouldn’t let me register because they don’t have any record of me taking the pre-reqs, so the professor told me to just come in the first day and hope for the best). If it is full, I don’t know how I would go about trying to buy my way in, but I think it would be worth a shot, because I would have nothing to lost. I’d like for it to be ethical though. I strive to be an ok person. How much do you offer when you’re trying to buy a seat in a class? $50? $100? I’m not sure what I’d do if someone came to me about buying one of my classes. I probably wouldn’t sell, but maybe that’s just me? An extra hundred bucks at the beginning of the semester would be nice…

If it turns out that this is morally repugnant, or I just can’t find any takers, I’ll try asking the professor if we can work something out so I can audit until Add/Drop, and just pray that the first test is a bear that makes people want to jump ship. My class last semester was 1/3 of its original size by midterm.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Its a capitalistic society. I say go for it, feel free to try to buy a seat. Money talks, bullsh*t walks. But I’m willing to bet you chicken out and decide that it is “unethical” ;-* . . . but hey that’s your choice! Isn’t america wonderful!

Leave a Reply

