Sometimes

Standard

You know how they say that some people have all the luck? Today I was one of them. The day started out like any other, with planking around, and not knowing quite what to do with myself, and vacillating on whether or not to go to the gym, but it ended up being pretty special. I never used to carry my phone, but since I’ve been on call for my mentee’s birth I’ve been way better. It’s been charged and ready to go, but today, for the first time, I put it out of sight while I was at the gym, and wouldn’t you know, I missed the call. The call I had been waiting for, on the edge of my seat, hoping, willing it to ring. It was something of a blow. When I listened to my voicemail though, it turned out that my mentee hadn’t called for a ride, but had instead taken an ambulence to the hospital, and the social worker suggested that I might want to pop ’round. Fortunately, my gym is right by the hospital, so it was a quick walk/run over. I was still hoping to catch the birth, but (spoilers!) I didn’t. I was so looking forward to crossing something off my Buffalo Bucket List, but it wasn’t meant to be. I wouldn’t have made it in time even if I had gotten the call right away, because her labor was so fast that she was barely in the hospital half an hour before her beautiful little boy was born. She was all alone for the birth, which seemed terribly sad to me, but she took it in stride, and when I arrived at her bedside she was watching soap operas and seemed happy and relaxed. I kept her company most of the day, but I eventually had to get home for my family birthday party, so I said goodbye, and promised to come back soon (not that she understood, what with her total lack of English, but she was in good hands, and I’ll stop by tomorrow). I was still a sweaty mess from spinning class, but I felt terrific walking home from the hospital. Even though I didn’t get to see the birth, I felt good. There’s a new person in the world today (ok, there are lots, but I got to see one of them! He has teeny tiny fingers, with surprisingly long nails, and the softest cheeks in the world. He has a full head of hair too, and a mom that knows her way around a receiving blanket (she swaddles like a pro), and breastfeeds like a champ). When I got home I checked my email, and my professor had responded to my slightly-panicked request for help with recommendations. He was one of my favorites, but I only took one class with him, so it was wonderful to hear that he remembered me, and had kind things to say. He’s such a nice man. I knew that, which is why he was one of my favorite professors, but his email, and the follow-up email he sent me with the link to a Jeeves and Wooster video made me feel like a hundred dollars. So today, things are beautiful. Things are optimistic, and loving, and great. Today was the kind of day that keeps you warm at night.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

