Tonight we are young

Standard

We had our annual winter picnic today. My grandparents love to go out to Chestnut Ridge and have giant bonfires, and we don’t let little details like the nasty weather get in the way of tradition in our family, so today we cobbled together a picnic and made the journey out. It’s one of my favorite traditions- we huddle around the fire, and chat, and in that way it’s a lot like most of our traditions. We walked around a bit, but mostly we just planked, and enjoyed some good company, and what’s not to like about that?

Tonight the older cousins got together for our grown-up gathering. We wanted to go to trivia night, but there wasn’t any this week because of the holiday, so instead we had a drink (I had an Angry Orchard cider, which was delicious, and tasted like regular old apple juice. It presumably wasn’t though, so I only had one because I’m on-call) at Thirsty Buffalo and then relocated to a bar with pool tables. Emily (my older sister) didn’t feel like playing, so we did a brothers and sisters game, with me and Joshua against my cousins Sara and Alex. Have I mentioned lately how much I love having a big brother? We won both games, and he high-fived me so hard, it was awesome. I love games. There was a couple at the bar that was playing all the games, and it was so nice to watch them, because they were so into each other, and having such a nice time. Eventually the holidays will be over, but  I love having my family all together.  I’ve felt so lucky lately.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

One response »

Leave a Reply

