Other people’s relationships

Standard

When I was at Smith I sort of crossed paths with this girl, to the extent that we became friends on Facebook, but probably never had a real conversation. She seems like a sweet girl, but I don’t know her, and I’ve been trying to sort of cull my Facebook friends herd, and yet I know I will never unfriend her for one simple reason: her relationship. I love a good love story, and these two are so over-the-top that it’s easy to follow, and I don’t even need to creep, because they fill up my newsfeed. Partner A posts about how much she loves Partner B. Partner B likes the post. Partner A likes that Partner B likes that they like it, and so on. I know a lot of people hate this kind of thing, but these two are just adorable. As far as I can tell they aren’t doing it to show off how in love they are to their friends, or upset their exes, which is something that other couples do, that is legitimately hateful- they seem genuine. People are so jaded about college relationships (myself included), and I’m guilty of eyebrow raising when two young people get married, but I kind of like the idea that people are looking for their mate, or their second-half, or bashert, or what have you, and sometimes that person can come into your life at an early age. I want examples of people who are deeply in love, they’re encouraging.

My phone rang earlier today with an unfamiliar number, and I had a heart attack, thinking it was my mentee. It was my dentist. Fail. 🙂 It’s going to be like this until she has the baby, and then for the rest of my life once I become a midwife. You know what though? It’s 1,000,000% worth it to get to be a part of something this special.

Leave a Reply

