Getting on track

Standard

I made my Buffalo Bucket List as a way of holding myself to actually doing fun stuff while I’m here, instead of sitting behind the stove all day every day, but that hasn’t really been a huge issue. I’ve been doing lots of fun stuff, but I haven’t really been following the list. Yesterday though I got a lead on knocking off two items- volunteer, and attend a birth! I finally finally got to meet my Priscilla Project mentee! We’ve rescheduled so many times, and I thought I would have to again yesterday (Bucket List item #7: get my license needs to happen), but the social worker was able to give me a ride (it would have been an hour and a half walk, one way, in the rain, with a giant blister on my heel from the teeth-grittingly awful combination of falling down socks and wellies). My mentee is already a mother of four, with #5 on the way in the near future, and I kind of fell in love with the whole family while we were sitting in their living room, getting to know each other and making her birth plan. Her two oldest children are both girls, and they’re super well-behaved, with the patience of saints when it comes to their brothers. They’re both in school, so I’m hoping they’ll be able to help with some language gaps, since neither of their parents speak English. The little boys are just adorable, and showed off their break dancing moves, and ran around yelling (ok, that was less adorable) and climbed all over me (tiny children fingers are very cute, but they made me nervous when they got too close to my eyebrow ring. He was clearly curious, and kept trying to touch it, but thankfully he knows enough English to understand “no”). The best part though, was that my mentee is ok with me staying with her when she has the baby. I’m actually the first person she’s supposed to call when she goes into labor, which is just shy of terrifying. I am going to be glued to my phone until she calls. Normally I never carry my phone, but midwives have to be available at all times when they’re on call, and so it’s good practice. It’s a little inconvienent that I don’t have my license, since that means that my whole family is on call, but my parents are being incredibly understanding about it. It’s good karma for everyone this way.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

