Exhausted

Standard

Today has been long. This afternoon alone qualifies as a long day, since I came home from school and found an email lurking in my inbox, telling me that unless Marquette gets everything, all of my grades, recommendations, everything, by the end of the month they’re going to trash my application. Que frantic emailing. I firmly believe that things are going to be ok, but I will be so happy when this is all over. And I still have two applications to go. It will all be worth it if I get in, but if I don’t I’m pretty sure I’m going to need to ask different people for recommendations in the future, because no way are any of these people agreeing to do it again. No one has ever asked me for a recommendation, but I imagine it has to be pretty annoying, and not actually flattering, so I understand the foot dragging, and forgetfulness, and that’s ignoring all the pressure. It’s like holding someone’s baby times a million (because really, how likely are you to drop a baby? I know it happens, but how often? And a lot of the time when someone lets you hold their baby you’re sitting down, so it doesn’t even have very far to fall, and would probably just land on the couch anyway. And it would cry, but it wouldn’t be harmed really. Babies are usually pretty durable). It’s like holding someone’s fetus while the mom has surgery, and they’re still attached, but the surgeon wouldn’t have been able to reach if they left the baby in, so they took it out, and asked you to hold it, but dropping it would be way worse than dropping a regular, already-born baby (I’ve been watching a lot of Private Practice. Go right ahead and judge me). And you have to hold it for hours, on multiple occasions, when you have lots of other important things to do. So I understand why people aren’t happy, or enthusiastic about writing them, and I know that nagging them isn’t helping any part of this situation, but I am freaking out. I wish this part would just end, so I could get to the next part, which I know is going to be way harder, but in a way that I can control. I can control how hard I work, and how much I study, but I can’t teleport to Massachusetts and mail the recommendations myself and it’s kind of killing me. I’m so tired.

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

