Christmas Spirit

Standard

When Saint Clare of Assisi couldn’t get to mass she reportedly was able to see and hear it projected on the walls of her room, and so she was made the Patron Saint of television. I missed the first Sunday of Advent, and declared that I would go to mass every Sunday this month, but today family obligations created a conflict and I couldn’t go. Fortunately, through the magic of the internet, I was not only able to hear mass, I also got to listen to my little sister sing during the Christmas Vespers service at Smith. Not bad at all. 🙂 I loved Vespers when I was at Smith, and it was such a pleasure to be able to watch it online, especially with Lillian in it. I went to the UU Music Sunday service today, and then spent the afternoon working on Christmas gifts, so it’s been a kind of holly jolly day all around.

I wanted to make all my gifts this year, but I’m pretty sure that isn’t going to happen. Sometimes people want things that I can’t make. I’m trying to make every gift special though. I wish I could post pictures of all the stuff that I’m making, but that would kind of ruin the surprise. It’s so fun though, and I want to share the process, but I’ll just have to wait until after Christmas. It’s unseasonably warm, but Christmas is slowly creeping up on me. My mom decorated the dining room, and put lights on the front of the house, and Christmas Child is on near-constant rotation. Someday, I’ll be at a part of my life where finals aren’t putting a damper of the festivities, but for now the looming exams actual feel a little festive. They’re like doors on the Advent calendar.

Leave a Reply

