I want a hippopotamus for Christmas…

Standard

And now it’s in your head. Thank my dad, he’s the one who started it.

I discovered a new blog today, and it is so super awesome that I had to link to it and everyone should check it out (seriously, check it out, I’ll wait). The author, Devon just quit her job and is going to spend a year traveling around the world,  starting in Thailand (which just so happens to be one of the places I really want to go to. Sadly, Doctors Without Borders doesn’t send people there because the authorities wouldn’t let them treat undocumented migrant workers. I swear I’m not just sad about this because I wanted to go to Thailand. The way I phrased that makes it sound like that’s why I think it’s sad, but I’m not that shallow). Even before she announced her trip it was an awesome blog though, because she just does so much cool stuff. She’s a badass runner, and she meets lots of cool people and just jumps into things in a way that’s really brave, but doesn’t seem unattainable. It’s corny-sounding, but her blog is really inspiring, especially because I relate to how she got started (living at home, buried in student loans, not really doing anything that exciting with her life (I know that there’s a difference between directionless-living-at-home-not-doing-anything-with-your-life and working-toward-something-while-you-live-at-home, but it feels the same)). I’m not ready for my big adventure yet- I’m still cookie dough, but someday I’ll be done baking, and it’s exciting to read about people who are out there following their dreams. I think I might take a little longer than most people to get to where I need to be- I follow my own schedule, and it’s just a little later than average. It’s sort of weird, because I always thought of myself as an early bloomer (an expression that I don’t really cotton to, as it evokes Judy Bloom and hygiene products, and gnugghh, but it applies here), but I’m not. I’m serious, but I’m still kind of immature in a lot of ways. I’ll get there eventually though, and it isn’t a problem as long as I’m still growing and not just dragging my feet and stagnating, which is something I worry about, and why I find stories like Devon’s so exciting. She’s going out there and doing something, and someday I will too.

Something that occurred to me while I was reading Devon’s blog was that I’m not really under that much of a time limit for adventures. I’ve been thinking about them in terms of “I need to do everything right now because someday I’ll be old and settled and that part of my life will be over”, but that kind of thinking doesn’t actually make a ton of sense. I don’t want adventures to be something I do while I’m young, and then remember fondly for the rest of my boring life- I want to have adventures forever. I don’t want to stop once I get married and have kids- I want them to come too, so we can all have adventures and get lost in space together. This is slightly problematic, as it means I’ll have to marry someone who A) wants to have all the adventures (which is desirable anyway, but somewhat limits the pool), B) is at liberty to have all the adventures, and C) likes adventures, but is also happy with downtime and doesn’t need to spend every minute of every day jumping off of waterfalls, but you know what, I like a challenge. Plus, if I get out there and do awesome stuff I’ll presumably meet like-minded people, and that’ll help with the process.

So that’s where my mind is wandering today. Through jungles, with a ruggedly handsome husband, and a baby strapped to my chest. 🙂

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

