Guess What

Standard

This is my 100th post! Where has the time gone?

I am having a very sleepy day at work today, but I’m trying to rally. The Turkey Trot was one of many reminders that I need to get to the gym more often (my yoga studio called me yesterday to say they miss me, and hope I’ll come back now that the weather is getting colder. It was actually kind of nice, but I already paid for my gym membership, so it’s hard to justify expensive yoga). I was going to give myself this week, since it’s short, and weird, and I’m still recovering from Thanksgiving, but even I have to admit that’s a cop-out, so I’m starting today. I couldn’t find my gym bag, so I stuffed some workout clothes in my purse, and after work today I’ll go to Spinning. Hence the need for rallying. I’m 87% looking forward to it, and I know that once I get on the bike I’ll feel virtuous and good. I was going to attempt to go whole hog and run to the gym, but it’s snowing, and while it’s very beautiful, I am not equipped to run in the snow today.

I’m working on menu planning for the rest of this week. I haven’t been cooking much lately, and I want to get back into it, but I’m not feeling terribly inspired. It was easy when everything was fresh and local, and calling out to be cooked into some delightful dish, but now I have to plan more in advance. Baking inspiration on the other hand, is easy. Everywhere I look there are delicious-looking holiday baked goods recipes, and they look like fun, but then you have a bunch of baked goods, and you have to get rid of them before you can (in good conscience) move onto the next recipe. But that’s what break rooms are for, right? What I really want to eat, and so I guess I need to make, are spring rolls. And cold, spicy noodles. I can clearly imagine what I want to eat, which might have been a bad idea, since I only had half a grapefruit for lunch (they used to be enough to fill me up in high school. Then again, my day ended earlier, so I could go home and have a second lunch) and there’s still a lot of my workday and a workout left before I can go home and nom. Knowing what I want is half the battle though, and with this plan in mind I can get the necessary ingredients together and make spring rolls and noodles this weekend.

I know I kind of bounce around emotionally between gloom and chipperness, but I feel optimistic today. It was raining this morning, but it turned into snow, and that makes me happy. Writing out that I haven’t had any fun ideas for meals resulted in me thinking about what I want to eat, and then boom! inspiration struck and now I’m going to try making spring rolls (did you notice how that happened? It’s because I write as I go, and I don’t plan out what I have to say before starting a new post. I should probably work on that…). Tomorrow I have Pride Alliance, which is often fun, and today I realized that my fingertips on my left hand have a distinctly different texture than the ones on my right hand because of mandolin. It’s progress. It’s snowing out because it’s getting close to winter (It’ll be December tomorrow!), which means that time is passing and I’m that much closer to my next step, even if that step involves rejection and making a new plan. I have seven pomegranates at home (thank you Costco!), just waiting to be broken down and used in salads/eaten by the handful because they are so delicious and addicting. My Seattle application is all squared away, and my eyes aren’t red anymore, and my eyebrow ring looks normal and not disgusting (I don’t think it’s fully healed, but not sleeping on it and salt water soaks have been super helpful), and things feel great. Tonight there will be Spinning, and quinoa, and I can’t help but feel good about things. Just for the sake of balance, I have kind of a headache, and I don’t have my bus pass, and I’m dying for a nap, but on the whole, I have to say things are good. Everything’s coming up Milhouse. 🙂

What are you making for dinner tonight?

About turntowardsthesun

I'm a 23 year old Smith College grad, living in Buffalo, NY, and trying to figure out my life. I love to cook, and craft, and work out, and this blog follows my adventures while I do all of those things and more. Enjoy!

6 responses »

  1. Because of my zany schedule, I have to fit cooking in at odd moments that do not align with mealtimes. Last night at ten I roasted some chicken legs with a glaze of soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, crushed red pepper flakes, and honey. Tonight I’ll reheat that chicken and have it with leftover Brussels sprouts, which really don’t reheat that well but I didn’t feel quite right eating a whole carton of Brussels sprouts in one sitting.

  2. I’m going to breeze over the half a grapefruit for lunch thing (because that’s not a meal silly) and say that cold noodles in a spicy peanut sauce are a favorite of mine!

  3. Tonight I’m going to Chapin for chicken a la king. I miss making my own meals (not to mention meals for up to a hundred others), but this’ll do for now.

Leave a Reply

